Hot Crab Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I wanted to love this recipe, but I didn't turn out like I thought it would. I did cut down the milk to 1/2 cup as others recommended and I used aged horseradish white cheddar instead of adding the horseradish separately. I even added 1/2 t. Old Bay for the flavor, but the mayonnaise seemed to be the predominant flavor (I used a good quality name brand, not the cheap stuff). If you like mayo, that's great, but I'm not a fan. I may try making this again but change the ratio of ingredients. There's potential, but it needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
it was exactly what I was looking for when I was trying to create a restaurant-like crab dip. definitely don't be afraid of using lots of Old Bay.. just keep tasting it until it's what you want. I'm not sure how much I used but it was a lot more than 1/8 tsp. Also, it's pretty crucial that you add some garlic powder to this.. I just did it to taste. I cut the milk down to 1/2 cup, and I didn't top it with cheese because it was already so rich. really good.. you should give it a try if you've enjoyed crab dip from a restaurant before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this for a party over the weekend and everyone loved it. I will be forwarding this recipe on to others, per their request. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was a fantastic dip! I cut down on the milk (only used 1 cup) and doubled the cream cheese, mayo and cheddar cheese. I also added more horseradish and used over 2 tablespoons of old bay. Everyone at Easter dinner raved about this - I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKI101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This is awesome ! I did add extra old bay and only 1/2 cup of milk instead of 1 1/2 like the other said and it turned out better than Texas Grill Houses crab dip appetizer !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindymartin21502

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Eckhart Mines, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
We all really liked this recipe to start off with, but I have a few suggestions for the next time I make it: definitely no more than 3/4 cup milk, 1/2 c mayo, add 1/4 c sour cream, 1 whole tsp of old bay and if you LOVE crab, then double the crab. We did add it to the bread bowl and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Gross

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe. Definitely be careful with the Old Bay seasoning. It can be a bit overwhelming. I didn't put in the bread, just left it as a hot dip the first serving. I used the leftovers stuffed in mushrooms and baked in the oven. I really liked it better the second time around, the flavors blended well in the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Not that great. Very watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim D

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I agree w/the other ladies here. 1/2 cup of milk is plenty! Anymore and you do get soup.. I used a can of lump crab meat and just shredded up with a fork. I too used a little more Bay Seasoning and also added a touch of onion powder and crushed black pepper. I put it into a shallow baking dish, (to cut down cook time) and sprinkled the shredded chedder on top. It was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States