Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This dip was horrible. It tasted ok before it was baked but afterwards it smelled fishy & tasted gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I'm allergic to crab, so I use crab substitute, and that comes in a 12-ounce package.. The first time, I made it as listed. The following times, I made a few changes, too. I added more hot sauce, cut the amount of cream cheese in half, and used pepper jack cheese (for an extra kick). I've made this for numerous parties and gatherings, and I always end up with an empty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is a good base recipe but you should definitely modify to make it extra special. I added an extra package of cream cheese, about 1/3 cup extra mayo, one can of lump crab meat, about a cup of parmesan, a few handfuls of fresh spinach and fresh garlic. I omitted worsh and hot sauce. I serve with pita chips. People always ask for the recipe everytime I make it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Needed a little more hot sauce, but was very good. Mixed all together and placed in crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
too seafoody according to my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolatlatina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I did not like this recipe, but I did make some changes so maybe that's why. I usually don't like to review when I've made changes but I'll review this one. First off, the changes I made were no lemon juice or hot sauce and I added 1 T worcestershire and 2 t old bay seasoning, and I used 1 lb. fresh crab meat. I am accustomed to a little bit thinner, cheesy hot crab dip. This was not it at all. Maybe because I used too much crab meat this was thicker and tasted of mustard. I did not like this at all and the comments it got was that it tasted "crabby" and then no one touched it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
So easy to make and so rich and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
If you want to really taste the crab meat, use 4 oz of cc, 2 Tbs of mayo & 16 oz can of special crab. Also add garlic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
It was fast and easy to make. I made it without the lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce or hot sauce simply because I didn't want to run to the store. It tasted fine, I would eat it again. Next time I would put miracle whip instead. It tasted a little bit eggy to me. My friends all seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Very good as written. Much better with someone's suggestion of dry mustard = Worcester sauce, plus a healthy dump of black pepper. Definitely use sharp cheddar, and next time it could use some fresh chives or sauteed shallots. And less mayo - about half. I made a half recipe (20 servings), and it was about half deep in a shallot 9" pie plate. 4 of us ate it for dinner on crackers w/ veggie. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States