Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I made the recipe as directed except I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese, Old Bay instead of paprika, and fresh lump crab meat. It was not impressive in smell, flavor, texture, or appearance. I took it to a party and it was only 1/2 eaten because there were other more savory appetizers from which to choose. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Delicious!! Everyone loved it at the party and it even repeats great the next day (but don't count on there being any left!). I used frozen crab meat instead of canned and cayenne for garnish instead of paprika. The only think I would do different next time is chop up the crab into smaller pieces so it's easier to eat. I served with fresh baked bread, but tastes ok with crackers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babyg4re
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Made this today. But i doctored it up a bit to make it spicy. The only extra ingredients i added were chopped onions..for texture. Chilli pepper flakes, and chopped jalapeños. Came out great. Thank u.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
LOVED this dish. Very creamy & YUMMY!! Thanks for sharing Ponygirl! This will deffinetly be made again. My 4 & 7 year olds loved this & they do not like seafood.... Funny how people say it's too seafoody when it's a seafood dish. Good job on this recipe!.... Tim & my kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This was so good. We made it as is and it was delicious... I even repurposed it later by adding heavy cream and some extra old bay and it made an AWESOME pasta sauce! I will definitely be saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shani S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This dip was horrible. It tasted ok before it was baked but afterwards it smelled fishy & tasted gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I'm allergic to crab, so I use crab substitute, and that comes in a 12-ounce package.. The first time, I made it as listed. The following times, I made a few changes, too. I added more hot sauce, cut the amount of cream cheese in half, and used pepper jack cheese (for an extra kick). I've made this for numerous parties and gatherings, and I always end up with an empty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is a good base recipe but you should definitely modify to make it extra special. I added an extra package of cream cheese, about 1/3 cup extra mayo, one can of lump crab meat, about a cup of parmesan, a few handfuls of fresh spinach and fresh garlic. I omitted worsh and hot sauce. I serve with pita chips. People always ask for the recipe everytime I make it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Needed a little more hot sauce, but was very good. Mixed all together and placed in crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
too seafoody according to my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolatlatina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States