Hot Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I have made this at least a dozen times, and it gets rave reviews from my guests. I do modify it by: use about 6 slices of jalapenos (the kind sold in small jars) and mince them very fine. This adds the hot flavor but it's still mild enough for even kids to eat. I also use only 1/2 cup butter, and I omit the cheddarcheese from the sauce (which may be what keeps mine from having too much sauce and being mushy, which was a problem for other reviewers.) I sprinkle the top of the corn/sauce mixture w/ bacon bits and plain bread crumbs, and then sprinkle about half a cup cheddar on top. I just had a friend call me for the recipe for her Christmas dinner, which reminded me that I never reviewed it. Another tip that works well with this recipe: buy cream cheese and throw it into the freezer so you always have it on hand for this recipe. It makes no difference at all in the dish. I've used frozen cream cheese in other saucy recipes and it works fine, but I don't recommend it for frostings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
I would rate this even higher. We love corn and this is a new definite keeper. I followed others suggestions and cut the butter, cream cheese and milk in half and it was plenty. Also followed another reviewers advice and mixed half of the cheddar cheese into the corn and then added the rest to the top. I will continue to make it this way. It was perfect for us. Oh, even though we like spicy - I did cut back a wee bit on the peppers - it seemed like a a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
This is really good! I took it to a buffet, and it was all eaten. I used a can of chopped green chilis and a 4-oz jar of chopped pimientos instead of the jalapenos. BUT the most important thing is that there is just too much sauce. The second time I made it, I made only half the sauce, and it worked MUCH better. I also mixed half the cheese into the corn before baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This is awesome! The only change I would make is to use only 1/2 cup of butter. It was too greasy I think with one full cup. I also used 1/2 jalapenos and 1/2 green chiles to cut down on the heat. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Served this with EasyPork roast...hubby LOVED it. I used non-fat cream cheese and skim milk. Also substituted the corn and used frozen instead. Used fresh jalepenos'..this is a new family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
The hot corn was a huge hit at the company Thanksgiving party! I had tons of people ask for the recipe. I did however make a few modifications. I added just one package of low-fat cream cheese, 1/2 cup half-and-half, several American cheese slices (to cover the top), 3/4 cup of cooked bacon bits, bunch of green onions chopped and 1/2 green pepper chopped. I Of course also added the corn (3 bags of frozen) and a jar of jalapenos! :) I ended up cooking mine in the crock pot on low for about 2.5 hours before the event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was really tasty, but cut the sauce in half or it's way too saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
PHENOMINAL....The pan of this was wiped clean, everyone in the house LOVED it including me...Here are a few things i will do next time...1. there is too much sauce, i will use more corn. 2. mix shredded cheese into the corn. 3. maybe add some add Rotel........DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Silsbee, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
WOW, who would of thought corn could be anything more than boring! EXCELLENT! I'll cut the recipe in 1/2 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
A great spicy side dish that is so easy to make! I served it for T-giving last year, and it's making a comeback this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States