Hot Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Everyone loved this but I thought it was missing something but I couldn't put my finger on it. Maybe more spices? Overall a good dish. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I got this recipe about 4 years ago and made it Thanksgiving to take to my in-laws dinner. I cannot begin to tell you how many people wanted seconds. I love jalapenos but not everyone does i only put about half the jar in for less heat. Even the older people were requesting i bring my "corn dish" every get together!!!!!! Thank you for the delicious alternative to plain corn!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Gave this recipe to my daughter who can't cook to take to a work lunch. She called me so excited because someone had asked her for a recipe. They have asked her to bring this recipe several times since then. We use about 1/2 the jalapenos, but friends we have given the recipe to prefer the whole amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I have made this at least a dozen times, and it gets rave reviews from my guests. I do modify it by: use about 6 slices of jalapenos (the kind sold in small jars) and mince them very fine. This adds the hot flavor but it's still mild enough for even kids to eat. I also use only 1/2 cup butter, and I omit the cheddarcheese from the sauce (which may be what keeps mine from having too much sauce and being mushy, which was a problem for other reviewers.) I sprinkle the top of the corn/sauce mixture w/ bacon bits and plain bread crumbs, and then sprinkle about half a cup cheddar on top. I just had a friend call me for the recipe for her Christmas dinner, which reminded me that I never reviewed it. Another tip that works well with this recipe: buy cream cheese and throw it into the freezer so you always have it on hand for this recipe. It makes no difference at all in the dish. I've used frozen cream cheese in other saucy recipes and it works fine, but I don't recommend it for frostings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Yummy! I doubled the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Love this! I've made this a few times over the years for potluck dinnerssince I first stumbled upon it on allrecipes.com. The *only* change I made was using chopped green chiles in place of jalapeno peppers. I always come home with an empty dish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I brought it to work for a dinner and the people who were not afraid to try it loved it!! And bragged to the people who didn't!! Very easy and good, I didn't use as much butter as the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
A more accurate name would be RED HOT corn. I scaled the recipe to make 1/2 with no other changes in the recipe.I suggest cutting way back on the peppers. I like hot stuff, but this about took the skin off my tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This is awesome! The only change I would make is to use only 1/2 cup of butter. It was too greasy I think with one full cup. I also used 1/2 jalapenos and 1/2 green chiles to cut down on the heat. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This went over very well with the family at Christmas dinner. The jalapenos I used were a little hot for my taste but still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISTYDTHOMAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States