Hot Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Fantastic! Made it for a tailgate yesterday (10/12) to go along with the BBQ theme. Folks enjoyed it. I took others' recommendations to only make half the sauce and then combine half the cheese in with the corn and jalapenos. I think the idea of putting half the cheese in with the corn and jalapenos was right on, but next time I'll make it with the full amount of sauce just to see how it compares. UPDATE: Made this over the weekend (11/2) for a family get together and made the recipe using the full amount of sauce. Both ways are delicious and I didn't find that there was too much sauce using the full amount. I think it comes down to how many calories and fat you want to consume. The butter did seem to be a bit much, so next time I'll try the full amount of cream cheese and milk and maybe 3/4 of the butter called for. Both times I've made this, I've used the third less fat cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Used frozen corn because it's better than watery canned. Steamed it until the frost was off. Set the butter and 1 pkg. of cream cheese atop until they melted. Used the full cup of butter because corn and butter were made in heaven for each other. Left the milk out: cream cheese was creamy enough. Added salt and pepper as the frozen corn had none. Chopped a few slices of jalapeno from a jar. Used the full 2 cups of sharp cheddar. One pan. No fuss. Result was pretty good. Will eat some more in a day or so. If I ever make it again, will cut the butter in half at least. Too much of a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is the best recipe I have found in a while that has to do with Mac n cheese and I have to say my family makes me make it at least 1 time every week. It's awesome for those cold days when you want to just sit on the couch and read or watch movies. It's a really good recipe and I would recommend it to EVERYBODY if you haven't tried it please do you won't regret it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I have made a similar recipe using Shoe Peg Corn and diced green chili peppers and it was fantastical too. I will try it your way to see which I prefer but yours does sound good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I have made something similar to this forever, except add some raw scrambled eggs, bake it till the egg sets, top with croutons and some more cheese. it takes it to a whole new level. And to turn this into an entrée, I have added shredded chicken, and also shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This recipe is certainly better using frozen corn rather than canned. I just steamed the frozen corn for a couple of minutes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I have made this at almost every holiday dinner I have gone too and am always asked what is in it. I absolutley LOVE this recipe! I like to leave some bigger chunks of jalepeno in there for an extra spicy bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Hot corn was o.k. I followed others advice by cutting the sauce. Alot of my hubby's family c/o of it being too spicy. Prob wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Very soupy but good. Follow others advice & cut back on some of the stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I took the advice of others and cut down the cream cheese to one package and the butter to just a 1/2 cup. I don't like things too spicy, so I used green chiles instead of jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States