Hot Corn Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This has been a staple for parties or get togethers in our home. I also add a small can of green chilis, omit the cilantro, add some shredded cheddar cheese and smoky tabasco sauce. If there's ever any leftovers, which is rare, its a good addition to a burrito the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
It took me less than 10 minutes to throw this together, and I baked it for 35 minutes. I added 1 teaspoon of cumin and a heaping tablespoon of mayo (the kind with olive oil) to the recipe. I brought it to a cook-out, and I had one request for the recipe, and many comments on how yummy it is. I can see many variations...adding cheese, or bits of green onion, salsa instead of the tomatoes. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moemoev

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I really enjoyed this. However, I did not use this as a dip; instead, I used it as a filler, along with leftover chicken, for burritos. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This is a delicious dip, not to mention easy. Whenever I need a potluck recipe I always use this one. I also have to double it because half of it is always gone before I can even get it out the door.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Was kind of disappointed, but still gave it 4 stars. We used Rotel because that has more umph to it, used the garlic & chili powder also, but it didn't have much kick. Will make again, but try Rotel tomatoes again & double the chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I served this today for the first time and was disappointed, I did leave out cilantro and subsituted green onions because I do not like cilantro, but even with chili powder the dip was very bland,, maybe make it one more time with bacon for extra flavor,, and some frenches onions on top to add some crunch,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made this recipe without any changes because the other reviews varied so much I thought it best to taste it as is before making changes. First of all, I love cilantro, but it is what's known as a "soft herb" and heat kills the taste. If you like cilantro, adding it close to the end of or after baking will increase the flavor. As far as the difference of opinion on rotel vs. salsa and hot or mild, that's simply a matter of taste. My mother would love this recipe as is, I thought it a little bland. Over all, I think it's a decent basic recipe that could be tweaked to your own taste. I will make it again, but next time, I will take other reviewers advice about adding cumin, spicy salsa, garlic and cheddar cheese to make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I must have missed something!!! Well, I didn't think to drain the Rotel, so it is no wonder that the end product was runny. Cream cheese didn't do what I had hoped, and if I was ever to make this again, I would definitely put in some shredded cheese - cheddar, mozzarella, etc. I am repurposing the entire mess, as there is too much good stuff in there to not do that. I am SO glad I did not prepare this, as I had planned, as MY contribution to a holiday gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki De Boer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
We added about a cup of shredded mexican cheese, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe as written and found it very bland. I decided to try it again, making a few changes. I added 1/8 cup finely diced onions, a little more than half of a package of taco seasoning (in place of the chili powder), 1/2 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese, and half a can of black beans (drained and rinsed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Hot Spinach Dip

Cheesy, creamy spinach and artichoke baked appetizer dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States