Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was really good! I had my reservations after others comments and I was going to buy a choc. flavored powdered creamer like others suggested but forgot to adjust my grocery list so when I got home, I used half of the plain I purchased and substituted the other half with store bought cocoa mix I didn't care for at all. It was like a half a cup to a huge batch and I don't think it made that much difference but all in all, I thought it was great! I thought it had plenty of chocolate flavor and even though you do have to add a lot, which you have to with store bought too if you want it rich, it still had a richer, darker tones, more like a gormuet cocoa in a shop but it was MUCH better then what I have picked up for my kids in ANY coffee shop I've been to. I didn't think it was bitter at all and the pudding was good in it. Only downfall? The powdered milk especially was too expensive! Yikes The whole thing was spendy but still probably less then at a shop, cup for cup, and of coarse, better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This wasn't my favorite - I didn't think it was very sweet. My hubby and son said it was good but I think they added quite a few marshmallows to sweeten it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
made great holiday gifts this year! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made two huge batches of this to give as Christmas gifts and asked my husband to taste test (he eats everything). He kept saying it tasted funny. Not being a cocoa person myself, I just figured it wasn't sweet enough for him so added more cocoa, choc drink mix & conf sugar. He still said it tasted funny so I tried it and realized it was the pudding that was putting him off...me too. Just the smell of it when I expected to smell chocolate was a turn off. I'll remake adding more of above and eliminating the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This recipe is very rich and very good! Once I got started, I realized I had forgotten the confectioner's sugar so I subbed 1 cup of white granulated sugar. It still tasted excellent! I can't wait to fill the jars and give them as Christmas gifts. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyLouWho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Childress, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I was very excited to try this hot cocoa mix; however, I wasn't incredibly impressed. To me it was "just another hot chocolate mix." It didn't stand out as particularly terrific. I enjoyed drinking it, but I've had better from store bought mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This mix was so easy to put together! I did sift the (non-fat) milk powder, cocoa powder and confectioner's sugar to get a nice smooth texture. Mixed it in my stand mixer with the whisk attachment and it was fast. I actually put this mix into plastic frosting decorator bags- layered with sprinkles, crushed candy canes and marshmallows- they make a great Christmas Gift!! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCalRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
this is "ok" I wouldnt say its as good as gourmet or even close to as good as cocoa w/ whole milk, but for those who are used to the store bought hot choc. drink mixes, this is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prospect, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elderton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
this is wounderful, we made it last year and are back for more this year I had to make more in the summer to take camping. So much better then store bought. We gave to other students in my sons class and put it in the desposible decorating bags with a nice bow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Great place to start, but I didn't like it until I added an additional 1/2 C of the chocolate drink mix, 3/4 C Powdered Sugar & 1/2 C Cocoa to the amounts in the recipe. It's just too bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States