Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is delicious! I used Gingerbread creamer to get a little extra flavor and plan to make variations of vanilla caramel, etc for all my neighbors Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is a great chocolate mix. I am giving them away this holiday season. I used 2 (5oz) packages of chocolate pudding, and added an extra 1/4 cup of powdered sugar, because I felt that it still had a taste of powdered milk. I also plan to attach chocolate covered candy canes for stir sticks to give it a nice chocolate taste with just a hint of mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Easy and delicious! Everyone here is right. You won't want prepackaged hot cocoa again! Thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Great texture! The pudding makes a nice difference. I thought it wasn't chocolatey enough, but is very good as written. I'll try tweaking it with more cocoa...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
a camping tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was just okay, it was too watery for us. We had to use at least 1/2 cup of the mix just to match the taste of store-bought cocoa mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
So easy to make, and it tastes great too! I made it for Christmas gifts for all my neighbors last year, and will probably do so again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I was unimpressed. For the effort (so many ingredients!) I expected something much richer, chocolatier, and sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieKS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This receipe is so very good. I've made it several times and will continue to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
It was not my favorite, It seemed like I kept adding scoops and it was just so watery still. I was expecting it to be more creamy with the pudding and I even added a little more because they don't sell 5 oz packages of non-instant pudding at my grocery store, so I may add more creamer or milk powder. Ok second attempt I was just using what I had around the house. I only put 1 1/2 c. pwd milk, 1-3oz. vanilla and 1-3 oz chocolate pudding mix (cook and serve kind), 1 c. chocolate milk mix, 1/2 c. non-dairy creamer (extra rich original), 1 c. confectioners sugar, 1 c. unsweetened cocoa powder. I added only a couple of mounded-spoonfuls to a hot cup of skim milk and added some marshmallows. It was very good. I didn't have to spend a ton on milk powder and I think the mix will go a lot further since I don't have to use as much to make a cup of cocoa. (I won't be gifting it with this recipe, of course; it just wouldn't be enough to fill more than two jars.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States