Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was just okay, it was too watery for us. We had to use at least 1/2 cup of the mix just to match the taste of store-bought cocoa mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
So easy to make, and it tastes great too! I made it for Christmas gifts for all my neighbors last year, and will probably do so again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I was unimpressed. For the effort (so many ingredients!) I expected something much richer, chocolatier, and sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieKS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This receipe is so very good. I've made it several times and will continue to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
It was not my favorite, It seemed like I kept adding scoops and it was just so watery still. I was expecting it to be more creamy with the pudding and I even added a little more because they don't sell 5 oz packages of non-instant pudding at my grocery store, so I may add more creamer or milk powder. Ok second attempt I was just using what I had around the house. I only put 1 1/2 c. pwd milk, 1-3oz. vanilla and 1-3 oz chocolate pudding mix (cook and serve kind), 1 c. chocolate milk mix, 1/2 c. non-dairy creamer (extra rich original), 1 c. confectioners sugar, 1 c. unsweetened cocoa powder. I added only a couple of mounded-spoonfuls to a hot cup of skim milk and added some marshmallows. It was very good. I didn't have to spend a ton on milk powder and I think the mix will go a lot further since I don't have to use as much to make a cup of cocoa. (I won't be gifting it with this recipe, of course; it just wouldn't be enough to fill more than two jars.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
A good base to start with- one downside I thought was you needed so much powder (1/3 cup) to made the hot chocolate. I added twice the pudding mix and twice the chocolate drink mix (Nesquick). With those extras only 4 tablespoons is needed to make a richer drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Best mix ever. I have TONS of people who ask for this every christmas! I did, however, add 1/3 cup of powdered vanilla coffee creamer. I felt this added a touch of vanilla that served to complement the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Bayless

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Nice and thick and rich. Make sure to use the cook and serve pudding. I made the mistake of getting instant with the first batch I made and it wasn't nearly as thick as with the cook and serve. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very disappointing! I made this recipe because it had a higher star rating than the other hot cocoa mixes did. I went out and bought all the ingredients especially for the recipe and was so anxious to try it. It wasn't any better than a plain ol' store bought hot cocoa and didn't have much chocolate flavor at all. Very bland tasting. I've been trying it different ways by adding dark chocolate powder or coffee but am still not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This recipe was really good. I was making this to give out to 70 people. I put 1/3 cup in individual bags to give out. I put marshmallos in the bag and attached the instructions and the recipe. My kids love it. It tastes better than the packets that I buy at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States