Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Everything you want in a hot cocoa mix! Thick, sweet, chocolatie and good! I didnt think it was to sweet but I guess that is all depending on personal preference. It is a recipie and it is based on your personal taste. Arn't they all! I had my kids make this for their teachers for Christmas presents (they are 7 & 8) and they have a GREAT time making it. Fun for all and yummie for our tummies. Make with milk. Ohhh so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This mix is very good. I was originally looking for a butterscotch hot chocolate mix to mimick one I'd purchased from someplace more expensive. I used this recipe, but added 3 bags (~24oz) of broken/crushed butterscotch candies. When made with water, it's good. When made with milk, it's AMAZING! The butterscotch flavor is there without being overpowering. When my husband and I have it at night, we often add 1oz. of Amaretto liquor...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Really good. I sifted the ingredients in, and added 2 packets of mini chocolate chips. When I packed them into the jars, I added marshmallows to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I'm giving these as gifts to co-workers this year. I ran out of instant milk and only used 5 1/2 cups vs. the recommended 6 1/2 cups but still tasted great, just like hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacher4life

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Liberty, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I didn't enjoy this recipe at all. Followed it to a T, but it just doesn't have the flavour I like. I'd much rather have the cadbury hot chocolate from the store - it is rich and has amazing flavour. I tried playing with the combinations of ingredients and don't even know what to suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
blech! just made 4 jars to give as gifts. thankfully i made a cup of it first to try it out. added 1/3 of the mix to 1 cup of water and it was awful! added more mix and it was still bad. tastes like hot powdered milk with a hint of chocolate. i honestly don't understand the great reviews. none of my daughters liked it either. i'm going to have to do some major tweeking to make it drinkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was very watery tasting so I added another box of chocolate fudge pudding mix (the smaller box size), more cocoa, more powdered drink mix, alot more powdered milk and creamer. Then it tasted like something. Still wish it was a bit richer. Will have to keep playing with it to get it where it needs to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This is good. We were making a double batch & only added 1/2 cup cocoa mix & doubled the powdered sugar. We will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very, VERY GOOD! I added just a pinch of nutmeg and cinnamon to lend a bit of holiday flavor. My husband is HOOKED! ***HINT*** to get it to all blend and not have floaties (from the powder sugar) add 2 heaping tbs to a mug, then add just a bit of boiling water and mix together into a paste. THEN add the rest of the boiling water. Comes out nice and smooth, just so yummy! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States