Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Really good!! I used French Vanilla creamer. I've tried other mixes, but this is the best. The addition of the pudding must be what makes it so rich and creamy. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This is probably the best hot cocoa recipe we've tried. We do add just a little more powdered sugar for added sweetness, but no other changes. My daughters take this to school with them in the morning and have requests from their friends to bring extra for them. Word has gotten around the schools and now everyone wants to try it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is really pretty good. I added an extra cup of sugar because 1/2 cup just isn't enough for this much mix. I also omitted the chocolate drink mix because looking at the ingredients for the drink mix, it was primarily just cocoa and sugar (and I didn't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made this recipe with Ovaltine as one reviewer suggested since I was going to package it up to send to deployed soldiers. My husband noted the use of Ovaltine right off and said more chocolate and less Ovaltine. We doubled all the chocolate items and added more powdered sugar. Still not the chocolately goodness we were going for, but it will do for home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
just getting around to reviewing this but ive given this for christmas two years in a row. You can change up the flavors of creamer for different tastes. cute if you layer it and add mini marshmallows
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
We made this to put in jars for christmas gifts. it tastes just like any other hot cocoa mix I think. Not exceptional. it just makes it more special because you make it from scratch. We added some crushed candy cane to it as well which made for a nice colorful layer in the jar. That gave it it's unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Personally, I'm used to store bought hot chocolate and this wasn't nearly sweet enough. After trying the first cup I added about an extra cup of powdered sugar to the mix. That helped a lot, although it might have been a bit much. I think next time I'll go for an additional 3/4 cup, and if adding peppermints or other sweets maybe only 1/2 cup more. I love the idea of dressing this up with pieces of candy and decorating the jar and will probably make it again, but as the recipe stands it tasted more like mexican hot chocolate than what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
All the reviews made this sound so good but I was underwhelmed by it. Its not that rich and not very sweet, I wish I would have added something more to it before I divided it up into jars as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Adding 1/3 cup of cocoa to 1 cup of water seemed too watery and bland to me. I reduced the water to 3/4 cup, and it seemed perfect and creamy. I plan on making cocoa cones with this by using disposable pastry decorating bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American_in_Saudi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Awesome! This recipe makes a huge batch too. I've made this as gifts in a jar and also just for us. The only change I made was I used chocolate flavored powdered non-dairy creamer to bump up the chocolate flavor even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States