Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made this recipe with Ovaltine as one reviewer suggested since I was going to package it up to send to deployed soldiers. My husband noted the use of Ovaltine right off and said more chocolate and less Ovaltine. We doubled all the chocolate items and added more powdered sugar. Still not the chocolately goodness we were going for, but it will do for home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
just getting around to reviewing this but ive given this for christmas two years in a row. You can change up the flavors of creamer for different tastes. cute if you layer it and add mini marshmallows
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
We made this to put in jars for christmas gifts. it tastes just like any other hot cocoa mix I think. Not exceptional. it just makes it more special because you make it from scratch. We added some crushed candy cane to it as well which made for a nice colorful layer in the jar. That gave it it's unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Personally, I'm used to store bought hot chocolate and this wasn't nearly sweet enough. After trying the first cup I added about an extra cup of powdered sugar to the mix. That helped a lot, although it might have been a bit much. I think next time I'll go for an additional 3/4 cup, and if adding peppermints or other sweets maybe only 1/2 cup more. I love the idea of dressing this up with pieces of candy and decorating the jar and will probably make it again, but as the recipe stands it tasted more like mexican hot chocolate than what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
All the reviews made this sound so good but I was underwhelmed by it. Its not that rich and not very sweet, I wish I would have added something more to it before I divided it up into jars as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Adding 1/3 cup of cocoa to 1 cup of water seemed too watery and bland to me. I reduced the water to 3/4 cup, and it seemed perfect and creamy. I plan on making cocoa cones with this by using disposable pastry decorating bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American_in_Saudi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Awesome! This recipe makes a huge batch too. I've made this as gifts in a jar and also just for us. The only change I made was I used chocolate flavored powdered non-dairy creamer to bump up the chocolate flavor even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Like other, I'm making this for out 'Budget Christmas', me and the hubby just purchased our first home! I was not paying close attention at the grocery store and accidentally purchased Non-Fat Powdered Milk instead od of regular milk. After searching around I could not find regular powdered milk. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly as printed and dissolved 1/3 cup of the mix in 1 cup of water and it was very bland, could be due to the Non-Fat powdered milk. However, I added more Quik powdered milk and powdered sugar, a lot, and upped the mix to 1/2 cup and it's nice and rich. I also made homemade marshmallows and plan to give that away along with oatmeal cookies in a jar. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Vela Ela Ela Eh Eh!!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I made this recipe according to the directions and it tasted heavily like dry milk. I tried many of the suggestions on how to doctor it up but it was still bad. The best variation I could find was mask the dry milk flavor with a large dash of cinnamon and brown sugar but even then I would still prefer Swiss Miss or something else. Next year I think I'll just buy the big container of Swiss Miss at Sam's Club and add the marshmallows, chocolate chips and peppermint to decorate it. It looks pretty though, I used pizza shaped bags I got at the Christmas Tree Shop and trimmed it down, added mini chocolate chips, marshmallows and crushed peppermints and closed it with a ribbon. Hopefully I put in enough peppermint candy to mask the dry milk flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
We weren't crazy about this mix. I made it to give as gifts in the jar and we found it just wasn't rich enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States