Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is a great recipe! Very rich and creamy. The best I have found. I was able modify this to suit my lactose intolerant boyfriend by using "Morning Moos" dairy alternative powder. This mix is more dense than powdered milk, so I used 1/2 of what the recipe called for. I also put the mix through a food processor to removed any lumps. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I can't really expand on the other reviews. Just wanted to say - it is the best. I used vanilla flavored creamer and everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I gave this to my husband's coworkers last CHRISTmas. They're still raving about it! Guess what they'll get again this year, along with homemade marshmallows http://m.allrecipes.com/recipe/184362/peppermint-marshmallows
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Easy to make and great taste. This makes a large amount of hot cocoa, we were able to split it up for 4 teacher gifts. They were all very impressed with the homemade gift. We gave it with large marshmallows and directions tied to the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
It was good with hot water but better with hot milk. Like many have said it was creamy tasting, and I used a flavored creamer which seemed to enhance the chocolate flavor. Also used half as much powdered milk as it called for, didn't want to the milky taste to over power the chocolate and vanilla so I added 3 cups of creamer and 3 1/3 cups powdered milk. It turned out great =D now I have a go to recipe for hot chocolate when winter time comes again and its cheap to make too! Thanks ^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GothicSpice86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was delightful! I made a huge batch to give to colleagues and friends as gifts and everyone loved it. I, of course, had to sample as well and thought it was the best cocoa I've ever had. I did use vanilla-flavored non-dairy creamer and instead of cocoa powder (I ran out and didn't realize) I chopped up a ghiradelli chocolate bar and put it in the food processor before adding to the mix. I also wanted a layered effect so I chopped up candy canes to put on top with mini marshmallows and chocolate chips. Served in a bell jar with a ribbon and it was a great holiday gift. Cheap too - I figured that it only cost about $9 per gift including the jar and ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Aulwes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Made 1 mix and divided into 4 cellophane bags as part of teachers' gifts for Christmas. Very easy and Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Great Coco Mix. After reading some of the reviews I made a couple of changes. Used all creamer, no powered milk. I did not have drink mix, so I used 5 bags of instant coco mix, made one cup. Increased coco powder and sugar to 1 cup each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I looked a lot of recipes and took a chance on this one. I only did 6 cups of powered milk. My hubby and I love this. I have also read a lot in using store brand stuff. But we are low on cash and did buy the store brand for.all the ingredients. We shopped at kroger to do this. I add a little creamer to mine to add a little extra something... I have use hazelnut and now a smores cream, and they are both yummy in this. I also sift all the ingredients. I put the mix in the cup first and the add hot water. We r making them as Christmas gifts this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Great mix that is about same cost as store bought with a lot more milk for the kids. I did double the creamer and the choc milk mix. I also used dark choc cocoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Siebens
Home Town: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States