Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was delightful! I made a huge batch to give to colleagues and friends as gifts and everyone loved it. I, of course, had to sample as well and thought it was the best cocoa I've ever had. I did use vanilla-flavored non-dairy creamer and instead of cocoa powder (I ran out and didn't realize) I chopped up a ghiradelli chocolate bar and put it in the food processor before adding to the mix. I also wanted a layered effect so I chopped up candy canes to put on top with mini marshmallows and chocolate chips. Served in a bell jar with a ribbon and it was a great holiday gift. Cheap too - I figured that it only cost about $9 per gift including the jar and ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Aulwes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Made 1 mix and divided into 4 cellophane bags as part of teachers' gifts for Christmas. Very easy and Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Great Coco Mix. After reading some of the reviews I made a couple of changes. Used all creamer, no powered milk. I did not have drink mix, so I used 5 bags of instant coco mix, made one cup. Increased coco powder and sugar to 1 cup each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I looked a lot of recipes and took a chance on this one. I only did 6 cups of powered milk. My hubby and I love this. I have also read a lot in using store brand stuff. But we are low on cash and did buy the store brand for.all the ingredients. We shopped at kroger to do this. I add a little creamer to mine to add a little extra something... I have use hazelnut and now a smores cream, and they are both yummy in this. I also sift all the ingredients. I put the mix in the cup first and the add hot water. We r making them as Christmas gifts this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Great mix that is about same cost as store bought with a lot more milk for the kids. I did double the creamer and the choc milk mix. I also used dark choc cocoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Really good!! I used French Vanilla creamer. I've tried other mixes, but this is the best. The addition of the pudding must be what makes it so rich and creamy. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This is probably the best hot cocoa recipe we've tried. We do add just a little more powdered sugar for added sweetness, but no other changes. My daughters take this to school with them in the morning and have requests from their friends to bring extra for them. Word has gotten around the schools and now everyone wants to try it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is really pretty good. I added an extra cup of sugar because 1/2 cup just isn't enough for this much mix. I also omitted the chocolate drink mix because looking at the ingredients for the drink mix, it was primarily just cocoa and sugar (and I didn't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made this recipe with Ovaltine as one reviewer suggested since I was going to package it up to send to deployed soldiers. My husband noted the use of Ovaltine right off and said more chocolate and less Ovaltine. We doubled all the chocolate items and added more powdered sugar. Still not the chocolately goodness we were going for, but it will do for home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
just getting around to reviewing this but ive given this for christmas two years in a row. You can change up the flavors of creamer for different tastes. cute if you layer it and add mini marshmallows
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States