Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I was disappointed in this. I had to increase the powder sugar, choclate mix, and cocoa. However this gave me a good idea where to start. This is definatly a Hot Cocoa mix not Hot Chocolate. So I had my husband and kids sample it because they love Hot Cocoa and I prefer Hot Chocolate. They said it was OK. After playing with it I found a mixture that we all enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I followed the other reviewers idea of blending all together and I didn't have any lumps in the bottom. I followed measurements as listed and sampled it before putting in the jars. I thought it was very watery and all I could taste was the cream. I added the remaining pudding packet (I only had 3.5 oz so used 1 1/2 boxes), a little extra sugar and chocolate drink mix. I liked it better with these additions. The second cup I sampled was chocolaty and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This recipe was okay as is, but I thought it was a lot better with a few changes. I did the recipe as written, but using amaretto flavored creamer, and it was okay but not sweet or chocolatey enough for me, and a bit chalky. I dumped in a bunch more powdered sugar (3/4 to 1 c?), maybe 1/2 c or so more chocolate milk mix, and 1/4 c. more cocoa powder. That made it more flavorful and thick-tasting. The powdery taste was my own fault for not getting the water hot enough on my first taste test. I used much hotter water the second time around and it cut down on the chalky. With the changes I felt much better about giving this as gifts. The amaretto flavor was a tasty addition, and I think using the wal-mart brand chocolate milk mix made the flavor stronger like another reviewer had mentioned. Overall, it was tasty and worth making. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Payson, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Excellent hot cocoa recipe! I've tried two others on this site, but this one is the best by far! Here are some alterations I made per my tastes: I used 1/4 each of vanilla creamer & chocolate creamer. I also added 1/8 tsp salt and a 1/2 cup of mini semi sweet chocolate chips (since they melt, it adds a nice chocolaty surprise at the bottom of your cup). I'll probably add a satchel tied to the jar filled with little peppermint candies and marshmellows. The great thing about this recipe is I used almost all store brand items and it came out tasting wonderful. This will make a wonderful and inexpensive Christmas gift. Thank you so much! ***EDIT***I read some more reviews and decided to try throwing everything in the blender -- EXCELLENT IDEA. Just add the chocolate chips in later and it's perfect! I've already been receiving compliments =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley c.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Okay so I hate to admit it... but this is the best hot cocoa I've ever had. I didn't expect it to be much different than any other mix I'd tried because I honestly thought "How different could a cocoa mix really be?" This is the perfect mix for adults. It's creamy and smooth, with a good chocolatley taste... but not to sweet. Sometimes hot cocoa can cause tummy aches, but this isn't heavy feeling at all. I made a few changes... some by reader review and some because I can't read directions correctly. I used vanilla non-dairy creamer and a dark chocolate drink mix. I also had to use vanilla pudding because I didn't notice the "non-instant" part and bought the wrong kind. (I had vanilla on hand from a previous oops!) And once it was all mixed I put it in my food processor because my dry milk was bigger than everything else. I will def be giving this as gifts for christmas this year. Have a safe and blessed Christmas! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
THIS IS THE BEST STUFF EVER! All year long I have been saving any type of glass jar, fruit, jelly, mayo, pickle and so on. I have soaked the labels off and boiled them in hot water. I was looking for a Cocoa recipe to put in them. This is the one! I made few modifications as suggested. I made mine a little more sweeter and chocolate flavored. Here is what I did: 7 cups powdered milk 1 (5 ounce) package non-instant chocolate pudding mix 1 (3.5 ounce) package instant chocolate pudding mix 1 cup powdered chocolate drink mix 1 cup powdered non-dairy creamer 1 cup confectioners' sugar 1/2 cup regular unsweetened cocoa powder 1/4 cup dark unsweetened cocoa powder Blend powdered milk in blender or food processor until a fine powder. Then blend all ingredients together in Kitchen Aid mixer. I placed 1/3 cups in the jars and topped off with chocolate chips and marshmallows before securing the lid. I then tied the how to prepare cocoa card and a candy cane onto the jar! YEA !! I LOVE THIS STUFF! I WILL MAKE A HUGE BATCH JUST FOR ME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
OMG!! This is great and I cannot wait to give these as gifts! I had to "sample" before giving and now I have to make more! I even brought a jar to keep in my desk at work. I did put all the ingredients in a food processor and mixed it that way. Nice and smooth. HIGHLY recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montpelier, Vermont, USA
Living In: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I doubled this recipe twice to make for family Christmas baskets and placed the mixture in a 1 quart jar. I took a plastic bag filled wih mini-marshmellows and placed it ontop of the drink mix in the jars. Looks really nice, although I haven't actually tried the recipe myself yet. I hope it tastes as good as it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This recipe is not a thin type of cocoa mix. Just what I was looking for. I was tired of my family using half the mix in order to get the rich flavor they were after. This mix provides that without a lot of excess fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Absolutely wonderful. I made this to include in a gift basket for a fundraiser auction. I made the batch and sampled a cup...incredibly creamy and delicious. Because the generic powdered milk I used was more like small pellets than powder, after I mixed up the recipe I ran it all through my blender in small batches. This worked great--the mix ended up looking great, and it dissolved immediately and completely in boiling water. A *great* recipe. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States