Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Okay so I hate to admit it... but this is the best hot cocoa I've ever had. I didn't expect it to be much different than any other mix I'd tried because I honestly thought "How different could a cocoa mix really be?" This is the perfect mix for adults. It's creamy and smooth, with a good chocolatley taste... but not to sweet. Sometimes hot cocoa can cause tummy aches, but this isn't heavy feeling at all. I made a few changes... some by reader review and some because I can't read directions correctly. I used vanilla non-dairy creamer and a dark chocolate drink mix. I also had to use vanilla pudding because I didn't notice the "non-instant" part and bought the wrong kind. (I had vanilla on hand from a previous oops!) And once it was all mixed I put it in my food processor because my dry milk was bigger than everything else. I will def be giving this as gifts for christmas this year. Have a safe and blessed Christmas! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
THIS IS THE BEST STUFF EVER! All year long I have been saving any type of glass jar, fruit, jelly, mayo, pickle and so on. I have soaked the labels off and boiled them in hot water. I was looking for a Cocoa recipe to put in them. This is the one! I made few modifications as suggested. I made mine a little more sweeter and chocolate flavored. Here is what I did: 7 cups powdered milk 1 (5 ounce) package non-instant chocolate pudding mix 1 (3.5 ounce) package instant chocolate pudding mix 1 cup powdered chocolate drink mix 1 cup powdered non-dairy creamer 1 cup confectioners' sugar 1/2 cup regular unsweetened cocoa powder 1/4 cup dark unsweetened cocoa powder Blend powdered milk in blender or food processor until a fine powder. Then blend all ingredients together in Kitchen Aid mixer. I placed 1/3 cups in the jars and topped off with chocolate chips and marshmallows before securing the lid. I then tied the how to prepare cocoa card and a candy cane onto the jar! YEA !! I LOVE THIS STUFF! I WILL MAKE A HUGE BATCH JUST FOR ME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
OMG!! This is great and I cannot wait to give these as gifts! I had to "sample" before giving and now I have to make more! I even brought a jar to keep in my desk at work. I did put all the ingredients in a food processor and mixed it that way. Nice and smooth. HIGHLY recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montpelier, Vermont, USA
Living In: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I doubled this recipe twice to make for family Christmas baskets and placed the mixture in a 1 quart jar. I took a plastic bag filled wih mini-marshmellows and placed it ontop of the drink mix in the jars. Looks really nice, although I haven't actually tried the recipe myself yet. I hope it tastes as good as it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This recipe is not a thin type of cocoa mix. Just what I was looking for. I was tired of my family using half the mix in order to get the rich flavor they were after. This mix provides that without a lot of excess fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Absolutely wonderful. I made this to include in a gift basket for a fundraiser auction. I made the batch and sampled a cup...incredibly creamy and delicious. Because the generic powdered milk I used was more like small pellets than powder, after I mixed up the recipe I ran it all through my blender in small batches. This worked great--the mix ended up looking great, and it dissolved immediately and completely in boiling water. A *great* recipe. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
okay, won't make it again. not sweet/rich enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Not bad. I think I would prefer it a tad sweeter. It's creamy enough. I measured out all my ingredients in a bowl then sifted it all together, combining well. I have some lumps on the bottom of my mug which don't seem to want to stir out. Not sure why. I'll be keeping this mix for home and not giving as gifts though. I think it needs a bit more tweaking first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Very easy to make! Can't wait to try it when the weather is cooler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Used french vanilla creamer, and had to add a few tablespoons extra sugar. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States