Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I think it needs more sugar and chocolate. Its also more costly than I expected. I mixed it in the food processor. Made it for my 2 boys teachers at school. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I found the recipe to be pretty bland as is. My grocery store does not carry chocolate creamer though (based on other reviews), so perhaps that's an important component. I used a full cup of sugar and a tablespoon of cinnamon. I would also not recommend mixing with water and would only mix it with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Yes I agree with those that said it needed a bit more sugar. I also added cinnamon and then it wasn't too shabby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great stuff. Way better than the packet stuff and makes bunches. And very easy. I put it in a big empty coffee can and we drink it on cold mornings and evenings. Would make a very cool gift in cute jars as suggested. Who does not love a rich cup of hot cocoa?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
FANTASTIC!!!! This recipe is not too sweet and very, very creamy. The trick for this recipe is that you do need to put everything through the food processor/blender to make all of the ingredients the same size and consistency. It was so smooth and creamy, my family and friends asked for me to make more and to NOT give it out as jar gifts like we were planning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This is very creamy, which I love. I made the recipe to giev away as a party favor for my cookie exchange. I made a mug of it before I gave it away and was glad I did. While I love the creaminess of it, it definitely needed more sugar (I think for anyone's taste). So I added an additional 2 teaspoons of powdered sugar per serving--perfect! This was my only modification. Next time I think I'll try adding some chocolate shavings to it. Yummy! I am definitely keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I was disappointed in this. I had to increase the powder sugar, choclate mix, and cocoa. However this gave me a good idea where to start. This is definatly a Hot Cocoa mix not Hot Chocolate. So I had my husband and kids sample it because they love Hot Cocoa and I prefer Hot Chocolate. They said it was OK. After playing with it I found a mixture that we all enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I followed the other reviewers idea of blending all together and I didn't have any lumps in the bottom. I followed measurements as listed and sampled it before putting in the jars. I thought it was very watery and all I could taste was the cream. I added the remaining pudding packet (I only had 3.5 oz so used 1 1/2 boxes), a little extra sugar and chocolate drink mix. I liked it better with these additions. The second cup I sampled was chocolaty and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This recipe was okay as is, but I thought it was a lot better with a few changes. I did the recipe as written, but using amaretto flavored creamer, and it was okay but not sweet or chocolatey enough for me, and a bit chalky. I dumped in a bunch more powdered sugar (3/4 to 1 c?), maybe 1/2 c or so more chocolate milk mix, and 1/4 c. more cocoa powder. That made it more flavorful and thick-tasting. The powdery taste was my own fault for not getting the water hot enough on my first taste test. I used much hotter water the second time around and it cut down on the chalky. With the changes I felt much better about giving this as gifts. The amaretto flavor was a tasty addition, and I think using the wal-mart brand chocolate milk mix made the flavor stronger like another reviewer had mentioned. Overall, it was tasty and worth making. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Payson, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Excellent hot cocoa recipe! I've tried two others on this site, but this one is the best by far! Here are some alterations I made per my tastes: I used 1/4 each of vanilla creamer & chocolate creamer. I also added 1/8 tsp salt and a 1/2 cup of mini semi sweet chocolate chips (since they melt, it adds a nice chocolaty surprise at the bottom of your cup). I'll probably add a satchel tied to the jar filled with little peppermint candies and marshmellows. The great thing about this recipe is I used almost all store brand items and it came out tasting wonderful. This will make a wonderful and inexpensive Christmas gift. Thank you so much! ***EDIT***I read some more reviews and decided to try throwing everything in the blender -- EXCELLENT IDEA. Just add the chocolate chips in later and it's perfect! I've already been receiving compliments =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley c.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States