Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
So good! Much better than what you find at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Bunn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Meh. I was expecting something more rich and indulgent as I intend to give this mix as gifts for Christmas. So...I doubled the chocolate drink mix, the powdered sugar, the (chocolate flavored) creamer, and the cocoa powder. I am also going to run some candy canes through my food processor and add it to my mix. My tags will say "Peppermint Cocoa Mix" and will instruct consumers to mix with milk rather than water. This will be very creamy and indulgent, the way a homemade hot cocoa mix gift should be! Otherwise it would just be easier to buy Nestle cocoa mix and package it for gifts rather than make your own and have it not be as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Great recipe!! Made this as gifts for co-workers along with a mug filled with mini marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Avondale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Bitter and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debra
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I added a little more Cocoa, a pinch or two of cinnamon, and a pinch or two of chili pepper also added a layer of dark chocolate chips and a layer of mini marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I love this recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Such a thick and creamy texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Made it for gifts and some for ourselves. It is really good. Be careful to pick a good brand of powdered milk, so it isn't too grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kcmeredith
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I mixed up a quadruple batch to jar and give as favors at my daughter's birthday party, and when it was finished, I had to taste-test it before giving it to my guests. It did not disappoint! It is much more creamy and chocolaty than your average store-bought powdered cocoa mix. I suspect the pudding mix is the key. My only criticism is that it creates a lot of "dust" when mixing, transferring into jars, or scooping into a mug--but this is true of all such mixes, in my experience. This one has by far the best flavor of those I've tried. I did follow the suggestion made by other reviewers to use chocolate-flavored powdered creamer, and this probably boosted the flavor. With that one simple modification, it's a 5-star recipe for a powdered mix! I jarred it with a few peppermint marshmallows, which is my favorite way to drink it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcmeredith

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
The recipe is awesome once sugar is added.. I like my hot coco sweet.. I'm trying 1 cup of sugar to the mixture.. I added 3 tablespoons to the individual cup (1/3 cup of mixture with 1 cup of hot water) and it was a chocolate heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I'm giving this 3 stars because its a good starting point and the addition of the pudding mix is tasty. However, I like most people had to tweak it to make it good. I made these for christmas party favors. I mixed several batches one at the time and after I made the first I tried it to make sure it was good. I like mine super chocolate-y and sweet. Here is what I did and how I mixed my cup/wrote the directions. 3 1/2 cups powdered milk, 2 (5oz) boxes cook and sever chocolate pudding mix, 2 cups nesquik, 1/2cup vanilla non dairy creamer, 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1/2 cup cocoa powder. Made a cup + a tad over 3 pint jars worth. For mixing/what I tried I heated a large mug of water in the microwave until hot then stirred in 4 heaping tablespoons full of the mix. by heaping I mean...was probably about 6-7 level tablespoons worth. It of course does not taste like box mix but it has the same sweetness and chocolate levels. I was surprisingly pleased with the out come as I normally mix hot cocoa mix with warm milk not water. So yeah after tweaks I would definitely make it again and make it for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States