Hot Clam Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Used onion powder instead of onion. Seemed like it mostly just tasted like cream cheese, was bland. Felt like needed to increase most the other ingrediants, like pepper sauce, beer, worc, etc. Wasn't that great with bread, better with Ritz crackers. Don't think I'd bother making it again. Better dips out there. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This was tasty, but could have used just a little more kick. I used Sourdough bread as that was all that was available (and I was too busy to make my own). This is relatively quick to throw together, but the baking time is the killer - plan ahead. Toasting the extra bread is key here. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I doubled the recipe and baked it for the recommended time in a casserole dish. It was really good and a big hit at my party. I served it in a warming dish with french bread slices that I broiled in the oven to toast. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This recipe was fantastic... only changes I made included 1. using 8oz of sour cream instead of one of the cream cheese packages, since I didn't have enough cream cheese, 2. throwing a few shakes of cayenne pepper in instead of the hot sauce and 3. baking it in a casserole dish covered with foil at 300 degrees for 1.5 hours (last 10 minutes uncovered) since I didn't have a bread bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I tried this recipe but found it to be bitter. Beer, grated Onion hot pepper sauce and Worcestershire sauce are all bitter ingredients. I would suggest less grated onion or use sweet onion (vadalia) I think with the sweet onion the recipe would be less bitter. I would try this recipe again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very good, even with modifications. I had no cream cheese or onion; used sour cream instead and some onion soup mix along with everything else in this recipe. I didn't think it was good at first, but after the flavors blended in a couple of hours- it was great -it was finished off quickly at the party...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This is a great recipe! For those who like a bit more zesty flavor, i made some minor changes. I added 4 cloves of pressed garlic in place of the onion. 4 teaspoons instead of 2 for the Worcestershire, and lemon juice. 2 teaspoons of hot sauce. I use tapatio. 4 tablespoons of beer instead of two. I also added a 1/2 cup of finely grated sharp cheese. I used parmasean, but you could use any sharp cheese with a little bite to it. Other than those few minor tweaks, this is the best hot clam dip i have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Cecil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Sunapee, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I thought this was good not great, although my family loved it and ate it all up! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This was quite good. Next time I'll try it with jalapenos for sure! My only problem is that there wasn't enough bread for the dip, so we were burning our fingers tearing the bread bowl apart near the end, haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States