Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I made this because I really wanted some hot chocolate and we were out. We were also out of regular milk, so I used dry milk. After cooking, and looking at it(it had lumps), I balled up the recipe and threw it in the garabage. I decided to taste it anyway after stirring it more(it works with chocolate chips too), and the taste was truly delightful! I was really surprised! So, I came upstairs and reprinted this recipe.This was very good! Thanks for the warning about the lumps. I will do better next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Complex and tasty. I added a pinch of chili powder, which was delicious. Rather than straining the final product, as someone else suggested, be sure to temper the egg before adding it to the hot mixture, and you'll have no lumps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muppetmissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Just make sure you beat the eggs REALLY good or you get little chunks which are really yucky. but it's delicious if you do it right. I take frozen chocolate chips and put them in my small chopper and it works great for the chocolate. A dash of vanilla is really good also. And we top ours with a dallop of whipped cream. ummmm.... perfect for coming in out of the cold and warming little hands up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2000
I loved this recipe! I added a tablespoon of white chocolate and a little whipping cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
This recipe was GREAT. I tried your way and the other way with a little white choclet and whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
I made this right after school just for fun and it was very quick and easy. I also used fat-free milk so it had fewer calories and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
Make sure the egg is smooth and whisked by it's self and there will be no chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Very yummy! We cooked it on the stovetop, and used a thunderstick to beat the egg, so there weren't any globs of egg. It was great as is, but we like things really chocolatey (plus we have colds, so our taste is dulled), so we added another 1/3 cup of chocolate. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Mmm, absolutely delicious!! I loved it, the cinammon really added flavor! I was trying to use up some Nestle swirled semisweet and white chocolate chips leftover from another recipe, so I couldn't grate the chocolate. I melted them in them microwave instead (put in microwave on medium for 1 minute, take out and stir, put it in again for 30-60 seconds before taking out and stirring again). I didn't have any lumps of eggs mentioned in other reviews. What I did was whisk it vigorously for 3-5 minutes :) Really a keeper-- I'm definitely switching to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
the best hot chocolate i have had in years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States