Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I LOVE this recipe but dropped a star because I think it would be really weird if left as-is. I mean, 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon?? I just used a sprinkle and it was already a little too much! (And I love cinnamon too, so that's saying a lot! Don't you want to be able to taste the chocolate here??) Also, add a splash of vanilla and a pinch of salt! I used unsweetened chocolate and extra sugar to make up the difference, simply because that's what I had handy, but I'm sure the semisweet is great too. Using the egg is brilliant! So creamy and rich! But I can't for the life of me figure out why people are complaining about lumps unless they just don't know how to cook with egg as a thickener. Beat it well before adding and whisk it in GRADUALLY! I made this both on the stove top and in the microwave and like the stove top much better, but the microwave method is good in a pinch. With the adjustments, this is a perfect homemade cocoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Easy and delicious! Be sure to whisk the egg thoroughly and add a little of the warm liquid to the egg before adding to the mix. This will prevent the egg from scrambling. Pour some spiced rum for the adults! 1oz per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMYOHO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
pretty good! the higher quality chocolate you use, the better this recipe will be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBakingDude
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Whipped this up in no more than the suggested 10 minutes. My kids loved it w/ lots of marshmallows. INSTANT hit ~ see my photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBakingDude

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Good, but i made a few changes. **TIP** TEMPER THE EGG!!!! That means slowly adding some of the hot liquid while whisking the egg. This will bring the egg up to the same temp as the milk with out the temp shock and then scrabbling. I did mine on the stovetop since i don't have a microwave. I also doubled the chocolate that the recipe calls for. And i used chocolate chips i had in the cupboard! Don't bother grating the chocolate! Either cheat and use chips, or do a rough chop with a knife on a cutting board if you're using a bar of chocolate. I hope this helps some people! Love and peace! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrimsonJewel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
it was delishus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Temper the egg(whisk the entire cooking time), use on a stove top, omit the sugar if using chocolate chips, and add a dash of cayanne if you're feeling adventurous. I also kept the cinnamon, but used just a little less then called for. I just sent my husband off to work 20 minutes ago with a big smile on his face! Next time i might add a packet of starchucks instant coffee to it as well. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GingerbreadMommy
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I did this over the stove top. I'm wary of letting kids use the microwave and hot liquids. Liquids in the microwave can look deceptively still and then explode when you try to take it out of the microwave. The taste wasn't quite strong enough. I added more chocolate but I used a Toblerone chocolate bar and I added more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerbreadMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This needs more chocolate! Approximately double the 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I just tried this recipe and it was amazingly good! Perfect for rainy days! I think the egg is the most important part- makes the creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States