Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Honestly, way more trouble than its worth....BUT, if you wanted to really wow guests I propose the following: Do this on the stove, not the microwave Ignore the egg. Be sure to use Whole Milk. Heat the milk with a Vanilla Bean and Cinnamon stick to steep. Add the chocolate 1/4c per 2c milk which is a little bit more than what the recipe calls for. Before service, BE SURE TO STRAIN which will ensure a silky smooth texture without any choco, cinnamon, or milk bits at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
It was yummy. I was a bit sceptical of egg in the microwave but it was fine. Probably would be good with out cinnamon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatiO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I wasn't quite sure why I needed to add the egg, so I just left it out. It was delicious and the kids went crazy over it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I made this because I really wanted some hot chocolate and we were out. We were also out of regular milk, so I used dry milk. After cooking, and looking at it(it had lumps), I balled up the recipe and threw it in the garabage. I decided to taste it anyway after stirring it more(it works with chocolate chips too), and the taste was truly delightful! I was really surprised! So, I came upstairs and reprinted this recipe.This was very good! Thanks for the warning about the lumps. I will do better next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Mmm, absolutely delicious!! I loved it, the cinammon really added flavor! I was trying to use up some Nestle swirled semisweet and white chocolate chips leftover from another recipe, so I couldn't grate the chocolate. I melted them in them microwave instead (put in microwave on medium for 1 minute, take out and stir, put it in again for 30-60 seconds before taking out and stirring again). I didn't have any lumps of eggs mentioned in other reviews. What I did was whisk it vigorously for 3-5 minutes :) Really a keeper-- I'm definitely switching to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Just make sure you beat the eggs REALLY good or you get little chunks which are really yucky. but it's delicious if you do it right. I take frozen chocolate chips and put them in my small chopper and it works great for the chocolate. A dash of vanilla is really good also. And we top ours with a dallop of whipped cream. ummmm.... perfect for coming in out of the cold and warming little hands up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
i tried that recently and i loved it.i also added some brown sugar ,and chocolate syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
The egg must be properly beaten beforehand or you'll get lumps in your hot chocolate. If you do, you can always strain it, as I found the egg hardly affected the taste at all. I made the same recipe again using 1 cup of milk, a smaller fraction of the egg, and chocolate drops in stead of grated chocolate. I will omit the egg next time. A good recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I didn't use the best chocolate and did not have any cinnamon in my house therefore it was not that great. I believe with a more expensive chocolate this recipe would be very tasty! Also, be sure to mix the eggs really good or else ou will have scrambled eggs in you hot chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Complex and tasty. I added a pinch of chili powder, which was delicious. Rather than straining the final product, as someone else suggested, be sure to temper the egg before adding it to the hot mixture, and you'll have no lumps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muppetmissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States