Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was great! I made the recipe as is. Although I did use chocolate chips and I melted them in the pan. I got a couple of egg bits, but nothing major.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
the best hot chocolate i have had in years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Honestly, way more trouble than its worth....BUT, if you wanted to really wow guests I propose the following: Do this on the stove, not the microwave Ignore the egg. Be sure to use Whole Milk. Heat the milk with a Vanilla Bean and Cinnamon stick to steep. Add the chocolate 1/4c per 2c milk which is a little bit more than what the recipe calls for. Before service, BE SURE TO STRAIN which will ensure a silky smooth texture without any choco, cinnamon, or milk bits at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
It was yummy. I was a bit sceptical of egg in the microwave but it was fine. Probably would be good with out cinnamon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatiO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I wasn't quite sure why I needed to add the egg, so I just left it out. It was delicious and the kids went crazy over it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I made this because I really wanted some hot chocolate and we were out. We were also out of regular milk, so I used dry milk. After cooking, and looking at it(it had lumps), I balled up the recipe and threw it in the garabage. I decided to taste it anyway after stirring it more(it works with chocolate chips too), and the taste was truly delightful! I was really surprised! So, I came upstairs and reprinted this recipe.This was very good! Thanks for the warning about the lumps. I will do better next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Mmm, absolutely delicious!! I loved it, the cinammon really added flavor! I was trying to use up some Nestle swirled semisweet and white chocolate chips leftover from another recipe, so I couldn't grate the chocolate. I melted them in them microwave instead (put in microwave on medium for 1 minute, take out and stir, put it in again for 30-60 seconds before taking out and stirring again). I didn't have any lumps of eggs mentioned in other reviews. What I did was whisk it vigorously for 3-5 minutes :) Really a keeper-- I'm definitely switching to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Just make sure you beat the eggs REALLY good or you get little chunks which are really yucky. but it's delicious if you do it right. I take frozen chocolate chips and put them in my small chopper and it works great for the chocolate. A dash of vanilla is really good also. And we top ours with a dallop of whipped cream. ummmm.... perfect for coming in out of the cold and warming little hands up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
i tried that recently and i loved it.i also added some brown sugar ,and chocolate syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States