Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I used my hand blender to get the egg beaten thoroughly, so no egg whites would congeal later on. I tried to cheat and used mini chocolate chips, but I had to use my hand blender again to get them to really blend in well (after I washed it, of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I liked this recipe...all except for the egg. There were chunks of egg whites in the hot chocolate. It was pretty easy to make besides grating the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
IT the BEST I have ever had I so going to make more. :-] This is the BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I shredded crunch bars for my 1/3 cup of chocolate and didn't put in the egg. When it was all finished I added some Malibu to mind and turned it into a drink that my friend said she orders at the bar called a mounds bar. I will maybe use a little less cinnamon next time. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAINEY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
i love it .its awesome ilove it for a cold day drink! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piper

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
The recipe was easy to make and prepare but make sure to whisk the eggs completely smooth. I didn't take the time to completely whisk them smooth and I got big egg chunks in my hot cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Loved this! Reminds me of Chai Tea and I love Chai. Very unexpected taste considering the title of the recipe. Give it a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This hot chocolate is really good. I would not use the egg unless you beat it really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I LOVE this recipe but dropped a star because I think it would be really weird if left as-is. I mean, 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon?? I just used a sprinkle and it was already a little too much! (And I love cinnamon too, so that's saying a lot! Don't you want to be able to taste the chocolate here??) Also, add a splash of vanilla and a pinch of salt! I used unsweetened chocolate and extra sugar to make up the difference, simply because that's what I had handy, but I'm sure the semisweet is great too. Using the egg is brilliant! So creamy and rich! But I can't for the life of me figure out why people are complaining about lumps unless they just don't know how to cook with egg as a thickener. Beat it well before adding and whisk it in GRADUALLY! I made this both on the stove top and in the microwave and like the stove top much better, but the microwave method is good in a pinch. With the adjustments, this is a perfect homemade cocoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States