Hot Chocolate Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I lost my recipe for hot cocoa a few years ago. The only change is i used 1 box of cook and serve chocolate pudding in it gives it that extra chocolate flavor i was looking for. All in all the family loves it thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This cocoa is fabulous! I made it for our very large extended family for Christmas this year, and I think it's great. Only gave it 4 stars because I think it is a bit on the sweet side, but I like it that way :) Just a few notes: I followed previous reviewers suggestions, adding the package of pudding mix and 1 tsp of salt. Due to the size of our family, I doubled the recipe, so if you need a whole bunch, here is what I did: I used one (30 ounce) container of the chocolate drink mix. The powdered milk packages didn't correlate to the measurements listed in the recipe, so I did a little math and figured out that out of my 64-ounce box of powdered milk, I needed to remove 5 1/3 cups in order to be left with the 51 1/4 ounces of powder that I needed for my doubled recipe. Doubled, this recipe yields approximately 21 cups of cocoa, so can make quite a few nice gifts for extended family/friends/neighbors. I would also definitely recommend blending or processing this mix so that it is more uniform in both mixture as well as texture; if you use a flavored creamer, I would opt for the sugar-free variety, as I think this may be where some of my super-sweetness came from. And, finally, 4T of mix are a must for hot water; however, if you use milk, 3T is just perfect! Whew - that's all I have to say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I made a half recipe, added one box instant chocolate pudding, as others had suggested, but still found it watery and bland. Adding 1/3 cup more sugar and 1/3 cup cocoa powder helped. I will not make this again and stick to Swiss Miss Cocoa and Cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Virginia, USA
Living In: Marshall, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is what I've been looking for...my mom made this often when I was growing up and as much as I tried could never get it right! She called me to see if I had the recipe for it the other day so I got on here to look for it...now I have to send it to her!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Gayle Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
My sister and I followed this recipe to a T and it tasted like creamer-water. We ended up adding another cup of confectioners sugar and another entire container (32 oz all together) of the chocolate drink mix. Then it was okay to drink. Won't be making this again. The only plus side was that it came out very pretty when we bagged it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andi8985thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This is a great one for people who are unable to get premade mix! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This mix is amazing! I'm skeptical of homemade mixes, but this tastes great. I followed other reviews and added chocolate pudding and 1 tsp of salt. It tastes just like store-bought and my children and husband approve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I lived the recipe, but added the pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
my family loves hot chocolate. they all wonder how I always have a ready supply for when they just drop by. This year I'll be giving them their own little piece of heaven whenever a gift is needed. no complaints so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is a very good hot chocolate mix. I did as others advised and added chocolate pudding mix to mine...I added two boxes to the full recipe. I would also have to say that the appearance was a little on the lumpy side. There was no problem dissolving it, but to make it look "prettier" if you are giving it as a gift, I would send it thru the food processor or blender to get rid of the powdered milk lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockway, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States