Hot Chocolate Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Yum! My husband and I made a double batch of this and packed it in pint jars with a layer of mini chocolate chips. We tied a few strands of raffia around each jar and attached two hand-made tags with directions and a Christmas greeting then gave them as gifts. Many of our relatives and friends are tired of sweets by the end of December, but this hot chocolate will last all winter. It was a big hit! Thanks! Oh, DEFINITELY add the pudding...so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I love how this dissolves quickly and completely even into only warm water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Even after adding two boxes of pudding mix it still wasn't chocolatey enough. I added a full can of cocoa and another cup and a half of confectioners sugar to the recipe and it finally was good. I gave this out as client gifts along with homemade marshmallows and got wow reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This recipe is great with a couple additions! I followed it exactly and then added 2 boxes of jello cook and serve pudding mix and 1 tsp. of salt. And if you mix a cup of hot water with about 3 heaping teaspoons of mix and add some mini marshmallows it is perfect! I tried another highly rated recipe and it was horrible!!! My kids wouldn't even drink it! This one is perfect AND a lot cheaper and easier to make!!! I used the food processor to make it smooth, (the dry milk is pretty lumpy otherwise) but it dissolves great in hot water even if you don't have one or don't want to take the extra time to do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Love this hot chocolate. I add the pudding mix and use one tablespoon per 2 ounces. 12 oz cup gets 6 tablespoons. then i top it with whipped cream and drizzle it with chocolate syrup. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
One recipe makes a large batch. I ended up adding 2 regular sized instant chocolate puddings that several people mentioned. And since I couldn't find a 16 oz container of chocolate mix, I used the whole 30 oz container that I did get. (After testing it first with just amount in recipe) DH said it still needed a little more. So I added about 1/4 dark chocolate cocoa, but I am not sure that it made a huge difference. I would like to try it next time with flavored creamer, or add cinnamon. I think it makes a good mix and hope my friends like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
5 stars when made with a box of instant chocolate pudding and a teaspoon of salt. Tastes great and makes a great gift. I filled mason jars with this, topped with marshmallows, and gave as Christmas presents to co-workers. FYI this recipe filled 9 (8.5oz) mason jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Very good hot chocolate! I followed the advice of others & added 2 boxes of chocolate pudding mix. I had to run the finished mix through the food processor to get rid of the powdered milk lumps. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is my favorite hot chocolate mix of all time. It makes a great gift for the holidays. We make it by the bucketfull and package it as Snowman Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I would use more Nesquik; I thought it needed a little more chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States