Hot Chocolate Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I made this today to give away as Christmas gifts to coworkers. I did as the other reviews suggested and added the box of pudding and cinnamon. I also used double the hot chocolate mix and about a cup of cocoa powder. Unfortunately I still didn't find the hot chocolate--chocolatey. If I hadn't, I am afraid it would have tasted like sweet hot milk. I was looking for something really rich and decadent that you can't get out of a packet, but this tastes just like the extra creamy swiss miss with a touch of cinnamon. Still yummy, dont get me wrong, just not really that special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Not impressed. Definitely not chocolate-y enough. I ended up adding 2 pkgs of chocolate pudding, like others suggested, and 1/2 c cocoa, and still didn't like it. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Made this twice. As written, and then with the addition of chocolate pudding and a pinch of salt. I found it too watery both ways, but better tasting with the pudding. Won't make this particular recipe again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Excelllent Recipe, Added 1 box of choc pudding and 2 oz unsweetened dry cocoa, to make the chocolate a little richer. Yum. My family will be drinking this all winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
If the crumbly appearance of the dry milk bothers you, try using Morning Moo's milk (augasonfarms dot com), which is in a true powder form. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Made this for the office Christmas gift. Huge hit with all the staff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GERENAK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
this is just like the mix my cousins use to use. i used this recipe and then added a 1/2 tsp of cocoa and pinch of chili powder for mexican hot chocolate- decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
More snow today, so I thought what better way to warm up than with a nice cup of hot chocolate. Reduced the amounts to make enough for just the one glass. Not a bad mix at all, maybe a little to sweet and not as creamy as I like but overall an enjoyable drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Thanks, Judy! This is the best hot chocolate mix I've ever had! I did put 2 chocolate pudding mix which makes it just right with lots of marshmallows! Also, when I was a little girl, my mother made me homemade hot chocolate every morning with milk, cocoa, sugar, and 1/8 teaspoon of salt. (Salt brings out the flavor of chocolate.) So I put 1/8 cup (yep, that's cup) in mine! I don't see how a teaspoon of salt would do anything for this large batch of mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is VERY good... Better than packets!! We did add 2 boxes Choc Cook & Serve pudding as suggested by other reviewers. Also, I mix with 1/2 milk, 1/2 water (I have always done this)... Makes it very rich and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States