Hot Chocolate Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Definitely kid-friendly! Good flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Score! Three ingredients=check. No high fructose corn syrup=check. Tastes as good as store-bought=check. The only two things I did differently were increasing the cocoa to almost 1 cup; and using 1/4 c. mix per serving (which is what the canister from the grocery says to use). Previously I have made this with confectioners' sugar instead of regular white, and it tasted bad. It needed salt and vanilla when served. But made this way, with only dry milk, white granular sugar, and cocoa, it needed nothing! Little sis was happy that it didn't leave residue in the bottom of the cup, too. We added whipped cream on top when we drank it, but it didn't need that. I might give this as gifts this Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
A+ really good hot chocolate. I too added the 3 cups drink mix and 1/4 cup cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I doubled the powdered milk and substituted sugar for splenda and it is great!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
The reommended mix is somewhat watery. I used 3 tsp. for a more chocolately taste. I also added vanilla powder (1 tbsp) to the mix. Very good! Can be made with milk. Sometimes with both the water or milk there were particles at the bottom of the drink that turned me off, eventhough I *knew* they were from the powdered milk. To avoid this, make sure you don't have too much mix in the cup, and the temp. is high enough to disolve everything when you add it to the liquid. Keep mixing as you sip...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield Park, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Delicious and easy to make! Great and handy to put in your bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Made this with dark cocoa powder. Try some mix in your coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This is a simpler, tastier - and MUCH healthier - version of the hot cocoa mixes that call for non-dairy creamers...and one that can easily be adapted for vegans, as I have done. I found that using a powdered soy milk in place of the milk powder and raw sugar in place of white yields a very tasty dairy-free hot cocoa mix. I also used good cocoa powder purchased at my local Trader Joe's that is far superior in taste than Nestle's or any other overly-processed commercial brand. I have not tried the healthier and caffeine-free option of carob powder in place of cocoa, but I'm sure it can substitute cocoa in much the same ratio. With whatever type of chocolate powder used, one needs to adjust the amount used to taste - I found most of these recipes for powdered hot cocoa mix are far too heavy on sugar and not chocolatey enough for my palate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Not the BEST flavor, but it's kid-friendly and super-easy to make. As an adult, I'd pass on it, but my kiddos are 100% happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I added a little more sugar than it called for (1/2 cup more) and it turned out a quite good. We will be keeping this recipe! BTW...16 ounces of dry milk is about 7 cups. And, yes, use 2 tablespoons instead of teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayne Beth Bosma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States