Hot Chocolate Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
We use milk to make our hot cocoa, so I decreased the powdered milk to 1 packet (roughly 1 1/4C). I also increased the cocoa to 1C and added 1/8t of sea salt. We use 2 heaping spoonfuls per mug of hot milk. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This is a simpler, tastier - and MUCH healthier - version of the hot cocoa mixes that call for non-dairy creamers...and one that can easily be adapted for vegans, as I have done. I found that using a powdered soy milk in place of the milk powder and raw sugar in place of white yields a very tasty dairy-free hot cocoa mix. I also used good cocoa powder purchased at my local Trader Joe's that is far superior in taste than Nestle's or any other overly-processed commercial brand. I have not tried the healthier and caffeine-free option of carob powder in place of cocoa, but I'm sure it can substitute cocoa in much the same ratio. With whatever type of chocolate powder used, one needs to adjust the amount used to taste - I found most of these recipes for powdered hot cocoa mix are far too heavy on sugar and not chocolatey enough for my palate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I added a little more sugar than it called for (1/2 cup more) and it turned out a quite good. We will be keeping this recipe! BTW...16 ounces of dry milk is about 7 cups. And, yes, use 2 tablespoons instead of teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayne Beth Bosma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Not the BEST flavor, but it's kid-friendly and super-easy to make. As an adult, I'd pass on it, but my kiddos are 100% happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Score! Three ingredients=check. No high fructose corn syrup=check. Tastes as good as store-bought=check. The only two things I did differently were increasing the cocoa to almost 1 cup; and using 1/4 c. mix per serving (which is what the canister from the grocery says to use). Previously I have made this with confectioners' sugar instead of regular white, and it tasted bad. It needed salt and vanilla when served. But made this way, with only dry milk, white granular sugar, and cocoa, it needed nothing! Little sis was happy that it didn't leave residue in the bottom of the cup, too. We added whipped cream on top when we drank it, but it didn't need that. I might give this as gifts this Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I was trying to find a good cocoa mix for a bridal shower favor. You know, "the perfect mix." This wasn't it. The chocolatey taste seemed watered down. Not to my liking. I was comparing three recipes for a taste test to pick which one to use. I'm not using this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
great basic mix. The more typical 2 tablespoons of mix tastes more like cocoa mix though. Typo?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinasbakery

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
As written, this is a little watery. We had to add more, but this is a very easy recipe and worth trying. We'll keep it on hand all winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugar High
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I'll give it 4 stars cause I didn't use the recipe's measurements, I just went off of taste. I think I used about 7 cups of dry milk, 3 c cocoa powder and enough cups of sugar to make it sweet enough. I scooped some into individual cone shaped bags with crushed candy canes, milk chocolate and white chocolate chips, and mini marshmallows. I handed them out as gifts along with candy cane biscotti. I also make my hot cocoa with hot milk instead of water, it comes out a lot creamier and frothy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar High

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This is my first one star rating. I followed the directions and doubled it. It was so watery. I put 4 servings of the powder in 2 servings of water and it was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greensboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States