Hot Chocolate Mix I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
This has to be one of the creamiest hot cocoas I have ever tasted! My kids enjoyed helping make it as well, and we filled jars and will be giving this as a gift this year for the holidays. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
I made this mix this weekend and was disappointed in the color it produced. I ended up adding some cocoa to darken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
Needs more chocolate and could be a little creamier. Not a bad recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I used flavored, dry non-dairy creamer and it is wonderful! Different flavors for different people in beautifly decorated jars make a nice Christmas gift. Added a mug, some cookies and a small book for the perfect teachers gift bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
This recipe was tasty, but I made a few changes. Although it is very creamy and sweet, it wasn't chocolaty enough. Instead of a 16 oz. container of chocolate milk mix, I bought a bigger container and ended up using three full cups. Then I also added 1/4 cup of cocoa for a richer taste and a darker color. Lastly, I used 1/2 cup of regular creamer, and 1/2 cup of French Vanilla flavored creamer. The end result was great, and I made 48 decorated mason mugs full of this mix for our school's Santa's Workshop. In the instructions, I also added a variation: "for a delicious mocha flavor, add 1/2 tsp. of instant coffee". My 10 year old son LOVED making these with me! Very easy for kids and not much mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I took the advice of KB and initially put in 3c. of instant chocolate mix and substituted in the half regular non-dairy creamer and half french vanilla. I also put in the 1/4c. of cocoa. I would definately recommend this to anyone. Thanks KB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
I followed the suggestions of the other comments, plus added a whole container of French Vanilla creamer and 1/4 c. malted milk powder. This is wonderful stuff! We probably won't go back to those little envelopes of mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
great tasting mix, much better than the water base mixes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
This was perfect, I will be creating some Christmas gifts for friends and family, and this is what I was looking for. I read everyone's comments, and I will sure try using some of your adivse. Happy Holiday to all....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Good base recipe. I took advice and used 3 cups choc. drink mix. I then added 1/4 c. fancy baking cocoa and 1/4 c. unsweetened cocoa for more color. I guess my math must be off though, because I only got 48 servings. I made a cup with 3 heaping TBL. to 1 cup water and it was great. I then measured out 6 servings into a pint jar. I only got 8 pint size jars (4 of them with marshmallows)! My math teacher says 8 times 6 is 48! I guess the tablespoons Fran used were measuring spoons that were leveled?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States