Hot Chocolate Mix I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
This has to be one of the creamiest hot cocoas I have ever tasted! My kids enjoyed helping make it as well, and we filled jars and will be giving this as a gift this year for the holidays. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
I made this mix this weekend and was disappointed in the color it produced. I ended up adding some cocoa to darken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
Needs more chocolate and could be a little creamier. Not a bad recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I used flavored, dry non-dairy creamer and it is wonderful! Different flavors for different people in beautifly decorated jars make a nice Christmas gift. Added a mug, some cookies and a small book for the perfect teachers gift bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
This recipe was tasty, but I made a few changes. Although it is very creamy and sweet, it wasn't chocolaty enough. Instead of a 16 oz. container of chocolate milk mix, I bought a bigger container and ended up using three full cups. Then I also added 1/4 cup of cocoa for a richer taste and a darker color. Lastly, I used 1/2 cup of regular creamer, and 1/2 cup of French Vanilla flavored creamer. The end result was great, and I made 48 decorated mason mugs full of this mix for our school's Santa's Workshop. In the instructions, I also added a variation: "for a delicious mocha flavor, add 1/2 tsp. of instant coffee". My 10 year old son LOVED making these with me! Very easy for kids and not much mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I took the advice of KB and initially put in 3c. of instant chocolate mix and substituted in the half regular non-dairy creamer and half french vanilla. I also put in the 1/4c. of cocoa. I would definately recommend this to anyone. Thanks KB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
I followed the suggestions of the other comments, plus added a whole container of French Vanilla creamer and 1/4 c. malted milk powder. This is wonderful stuff! We probably won't go back to those little envelopes of mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
great tasting mix, much better than the water base mixes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
This was perfect, I will be creating some Christmas gifts for friends and family, and this is what I was looking for. I read everyone's comments, and I will sure try using some of your adivse. Happy Holiday to all....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Good base recipe. I took advice and used 3 cups choc. drink mix. I then added 1/4 c. fancy baking cocoa and 1/4 c. unsweetened cocoa for more color. I guess my math must be off though, because I only got 48 servings. I made a cup with 3 heaping TBL. to 1 cup water and it was great. I then measured out 6 servings into a pint jar. I only got 8 pint size jars (4 of them with marshmallows)! My math teacher says 8 times 6 is 48! I guess the tablespoons Fran used were measuring spoons that were leveled?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States