Hot Chocolate Mix I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I, too, made this recipe with 1/4 cup cocoa, French Vanilla creamer and 3 cups of chocolate mix. It is excellent! It doesn't get any better than this. Thank you! I will be making Christmas gifts with this, too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I also took others advice & used more chocolate milk mix & added cocoa (I didn't even measure either one, i just poured until it "looked right")& used French Vanilla creamer. This is THE best hot chocolate I have ever had. I don't think I will ever buy those little packets again, I'm pretty sure my kids will refuse to drink it at this point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Good base recipe. I took advice and used 3 cups choc. drink mix. I then added 1/4 c. fancy baking cocoa and 1/4 c. unsweetened cocoa for more color. I guess my math must be off though, because I only got 48 servings. I made a cup with 3 heaping TBL. to 1 cup water and it was great. I then measured out 6 servings into a pint jar. I only got 8 pint size jars (4 of them with marshmallows)! My math teacher says 8 times 6 is 48! I guess the tablespoons Fran used were measuring spoons that were leveled?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
This was perfect, I will be creating some Christmas gifts for friends and family, and this is what I was looking for. I read everyone's comments, and I will sure try using some of your adivse. Happy Holiday to all....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
great tasting mix, much better than the water base mixes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
I followed the suggestions of the other comments, plus added a whole container of French Vanilla creamer and 1/4 c. malted milk powder. This is wonderful stuff! We probably won't go back to those little envelopes of mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I took the advice of KB and initially put in 3c. of instant chocolate mix and substituted in the half regular non-dairy creamer and half french vanilla. I also put in the 1/4c. of cocoa. I would definately recommend this to anyone. Thanks KB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
This recipe was tasty, but I made a few changes. Although it is very creamy and sweet, it wasn't chocolaty enough. Instead of a 16 oz. container of chocolate milk mix, I bought a bigger container and ended up using three full cups. Then I also added 1/4 cup of cocoa for a richer taste and a darker color. Lastly, I used 1/2 cup of regular creamer, and 1/2 cup of French Vanilla flavored creamer. The end result was great, and I made 48 decorated mason mugs full of this mix for our school's Santa's Workshop. In the instructions, I also added a variation: "for a delicious mocha flavor, add 1/2 tsp. of instant coffee". My 10 year old son LOVED making these with me! Very easy for kids and not much mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I used flavored, dry non-dairy creamer and it is wonderful! Different flavors for different people in beautifly decorated jars make a nice Christmas gift. Added a mug, some cookies and a small book for the perfect teachers gift bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
Needs more chocolate and could be a little creamier. Not a bad recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States