Hot Chocolate Mix I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I'm not sure why this is a 4 star rating when almost everyone has had to change it significantly. I tried a small batch of this as suggested in the recipe and it turned out to be milky hot water with a hint of chocolate in it. I then followed others advice and it turned out wonderfully, but let's give credit where it's due, to the reviewer who suggested upping it to 3 cups chocolate mix, adding 1/4 cup cocoa and half the cream be french vanilla flavor. When I made it that way, it turned from a flavorless mystery drink into a nice gift for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
This was a wonderful recipe. I followed the previous advice and add Nestle Quick mix and i used 4 oz chocolate creamer and 4 oz french vanilla creamer and it was great. I also added cocoa to make it darker in color. I also bought mini Hershey's kisses to drop in the cup and it made it even better. My family enjoys it and says it's better than the store bought. Also, I tried it with liquid french vanilla creamer in each cup I make and that taste wonderful. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
I've used this mix and variations for many years. Here's one bit of advice I'd give, please use high quality ingredients. Milk or creamer with an off flavor will adversely affect the mix. I often add more cocoa powder or an excellent quality baking chocolate powder to boost the chocolate flavor. Sometimes I use a little less creamer to reduce the fat content. You can also successfully reduce the sugar content by using Splenda for part of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This was a very expensive disaster. Nobody in my family will drink the mix as it has an awful aftertaste. Don't waste your time or money by making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
This recipe is great! I made a different mix last year that was awful! This is a keeper!!! I added 3 cups of chocolate drink mix like other's suggested, and used half regular creamer and half french vanila....YUMMY! It tastes just like the gourmet hot chocolate mix I bought last year! Everyone in my family loves it! No more store bought packets for us anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I also used the additions provided below (french vanilla, more chocolate drink mix, cocoa) and this turned out WONDERFUL. I'm making it for Christmas gifts in inexpensive apothecary jars. DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This is a wonderful mix. I did as others advised and used 3 C. chocolate drink mix (I used Nestle's Quick) and added a heaping 1/4 C. cocoa. This was wonderful. It made one of those 1 1/2 gallon ziploc bags full. I am giving as Christmas gifts and have already recieved many compliments. I bought the clear gift (treat) bags from the dollar store and put the mix in there and tied with pretty ribbon. Stuck the mix in pretty mugs with a tag and voila! Instant gift. You might want to put on the tag "mix with either hot water or for a cremier hot chocolate use hot milk). BTW, it is much prettier if you will add a few mini marshmallows on the top of the mix-the color contrast of the white marshmallows looks great in the bags. Thanks Fran! I'm making the 3rd batch tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
This was easy to make. Have a VERY large bowl on hand though. It is very tastey. Using water seemed to make it taste somewhat "watery". I used hot milk the next time and it was very rich and creamy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLLEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I, too, made this recipe with 1/4 cup cocoa, French Vanilla creamer and 3 cups of chocolate mix. It is excellent! It doesn't get any better than this. Thank you! I will be making Christmas gifts with this, too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I also took others advice & used more chocolate milk mix & added cocoa (I didn't even measure either one, i just poured until it "looked right")& used French Vanilla creamer. This is THE best hot chocolate I have ever had. I don't think I will ever buy those little packets again, I'm pretty sure my kids will refuse to drink it at this point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States