Hot Chocolate Mix I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lizzybaker
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
A great, simple recipe. I used vanilla creamer Instead of plain coffee creamer and then when serving it, used 3 tablespoons per serving and filled the cups half with hot water, the rest with cold milk, since it was made for my kiddos. The result is a quick tastey (and affordable) instant hot chocolate! Thanks for the treat! The children are pleased and so am I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This mix is not flavorful at all. It tastes like chocolate water...not good at all. To make it taste better,I add to milk...not water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I added flavored creamer and after I make the drink vanilla or peppermint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
'Tried this with 1c each: dry milk, creamer, cocoa. 2c sugar. 2T per cup. Pureed the milk in the blender. That helps with dissolving tremendously. I use half hot water & stir; then, milk & reheat. Nice & creamy, & yum. Best so far. Oh, added 1/8t salt, too. Upcate: Yup, this is the best. I tried it with Bevy's & I wasn't so sure it'd win, but it did - using 2T per 1c liquid (half milk, half hot water). Going to try reducing sugar by 25%. 2parts cocoa to 3parts sugar seems right to me. Later 3/2014: Decided I didn't feel the need to add powdered oil (the creamer) so here is the new recipe: 1c sugar, 1c dry milk, 1/2 c cocoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
The recipe was a good start but had to be altered to get a good result. I increased the chocolate, added cocoa,cinnamon and 1/8 cup of instant coffee. 3-4 tbsp heaping per cup and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very good and easy. Had to add just a couple drops of vanilla to the drink, but otherwise, very good. I will be keeping this for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Mclain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I added one package dry instant chocolate pudding. Really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I like this recipe! For a creamy taste I just added 3 tbs mix and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was good but I needed to use A LOT more mix to make it creamy. I also used French vanilla creamer instead of plain and that made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya Howell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States