Hot Chocolate Mix I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Great recipe. Use Ghiradelli's dark cocoa instead of regular cocoa for the chocolate lovers in your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSNEEDSCOOKINGHELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Alright, a more semi-sweet grown-up taste. Kids didn't care for it. Will keep looking for the perfect mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Perhaps the best hot chocolate I ever had! I accidentally put in a cup of cocoa instead of 3/4 of a cup so I added an additional 1/2 cup of sugar also. For 8 oz. of hot water I put in 3 heaping Tbsp. of the mix. Thanks for this recipe! It fits perfectly in my old Swiss Miss can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This mix could use a little more creamer for body but otherwise it is quite good and super easy to make. It yielded enough to fill an empty 26 oz Swiss Miss container. I used 3T in hot water and sprinkled it with a little cinnamon for fun. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plainwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Added 1 cup organic sugar to the recipe. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This recipe lacked "umph." I had to put in my mug double the amount of mix called for. It wasn't very creamy, tasted pretty watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Good starting point. I used Splenda, 1/2c. cocoa, and 1/4c. dark cocoa, and only had Vanilla Cream creamer, so it was VERY sweet. I added another 1/4c. dark cocoa, and it was perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I mainly like this recipe because it is one of the only Hot Chocolate recipes that doesn't contain confectioners sugar or Nestle Quik. I really do not like the taste of confectioners sugar when it is mixed with hot water and would rather not have my kids drinking the Quik too often. I agree with some other reviewers that if your hot chocolate tastes watery it needs more mix. When I make hot cocoa for my kids I add about 3-4Tbl mix/cup and boiling water--mix it well--and then cool it down by adding some cold milk. It is creamy and delicious. The kids even make it themselves with the hot water from the water dispenser and milk. This recipe must be put through either blender/foodprocessor/coffee grinder. Thanks for this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYSAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I make a double batch of this every winter. I use a little extra dry milk and it is great. I also use half Splenda and half sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritejane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States