Hot Chicken Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This was good but not great. I accidentally used cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken. And I forgot the onions. I don't think these changes made a big difference. I added some garlic salt and some fresh tarragon (because I had some that needed using). I had some sourdough bread that was getting old so I used it for the bread topping. DH ate and declared he liked it but I doubt I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
tastes more like chicken noodle soup (probably because of the cream of chicken)...ok as a casserole, but not like the chicken salad I imagined. Mostly just tasted like hot mayo...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I have made this recipe about a dozen times in the last 3 months. It is 'one of life's simple pleasures'. I've used any precooked chicken, skin removed and de-boned as needed. I use brown rice cooked with chicken broth. I toast the almonds. A smaller jar of mushrooms is okay. I also add frozen peas or other froz veges to the mix. Important. DO NOT SUBSTITUTE the MAYO! The consistency is perfect due to mayo instead of milk. I find the measurements do not matter as much. I've used more rice, less chicken and it was just as good. My man looks forward to this and to the leftovers. He usually hates leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAVEWOMAN884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendship, New York, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Since I don't like onion, I leave them out. Otherwise, I love this recipe. It's easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I had to use bread crumbs and chicken broth instead of rice and cream soup since that was all I had. I think I used too much celery, but other than that it turned out really good. I will make this again. Maybe if I follow the recipe exactly it will turn out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This was a very good chicken dish. I made a few changes. I added some pineapple tidbits, sliced grapes, and used fresh mushrooms. Instead of using buttered bread for the top, I just sprinkled some bread crumbs on (I was trying to save on calories). This dish also tasted great the next day. I would recommend toasting the almonds before adding them to the casserole - it gives them a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
It was easy to do and good, but it lacked that "bam!" I like. Of course this was a last minute thing and I had to substitute ranch dressing for mayo, and green onions for celery and beef for chicken (okay, kidding about the chicken). I'd recommend some zesty spices as an addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
This recipe really tastes just like chicken salad. The family liked it. I cooked the chicken in extra light olive oil and Morton's Nature Seasons. I didn't change anything about the recipe except the mushrooms. I mean 16oz has to be an error?? I used a 4 oz can of sliced mushrooms and that was plenty. I used wheat bread because that is what we had. It tastes like toast on top of hot chicken salad. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States