Hot Chicken Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I think that this is a 4 1/2 the way I made it. I didn't have water chestnuts, so I sauted 1/3 C chopped onions with celery in olive oil, added some garlic and then on the advice added a herb. TRY TARRAGON! It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I love this casserole, and so does my husband. It's a great one to make earlier in the day and pop in the oven just before dinner, too. I add a box of frozen chopped asparagas to the mix to add to the veggie content. Delicious, filling, and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Pretty good recipe. My husband loved it. He asked for more and more. I left out the water chestnuts because I didn't have any on hand. You can certainly vary this recipe to your liking. I seasoned the chicken with Season All before cooking and then added a little salt and pepper to the mixture before baking. I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was great! I didn't have cream of mushroom so I put in cream of celery. It was delicious! The best thing about this is you can add or take away something to make it how you want. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This satisfied all the picky eaters at the table. I like the water chestnut crunch in it. I used one more chicken breast and fresh mushrooms. I served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This is great! I did make a few changes though. I used Miracle Whip instead of mayonnaise (personal preference). I omitted the mushrooms and water chestnuts. As others suggested I used 3/4 cup shredded cheddar, 4 oz. of cream cheese, about a tsp. each of parsley, basil, garlic salt, pepper, salt. I used italian bread crumbs instead of crackers because I was out of crackers. I also added about a 1/3 cup of diced red bell pepper and onion which gave it a great zip! I cooked the bell pepper, celery, and onion together to soften up the veggies before going in the oven. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I had to tweak this a little due to lack of ingredients, I used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo, I only had 1/2 a can of cream of mushroom soup, so I added 3 oz. of Philadelphia cream cheese, my husband doesn't like water chestnuts, so I chopped 1 c. of celery and then for kickes I added 1 1/2 tsp. of horseradish and about the same of crushed garlic. It was DELICIOUS! I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
My daughter and I really liked this recipe but husband did not. He kept insisting I put nuts in the recipe? (I did not.) I even sauteed the celery first and eliminated the water chestnuts to keep the crunchy taste to a minimum. I have no idea where he was getting the nut thing?? I used onion crackers because that is what I had on hand. I made crescent rolls with it. My daughter loved dipping them into the chicken mixture. Will make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Just made this tonight and I can't stop eating it. It is great. I did use suggestions of others, added a few shakes of basil & parsley, also added a shake of garlic salt. Added 1/2 block of low fat cream cheese cut into small pieces and about 3/4 c. shredded cheddar cheese. I didn't have cream of mushroom soup so I used low fat/low sodium cream of celery - taste was great. Also used low fat mayo. Will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This tastes great and is SO easy. My husband loves it and it makes for a good dinner party dish. I doubled it and it still came out fantastic. All smiles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Warren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States