Hot Cheesy Spinach Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
I made this for my in-laws on Christmas Eve and people were fighting over it! I did change a few things, I added 1/4 cup parmesan, and used cream cheese in place of the mayonnaise. Also, I don't keep wine in the house so I left that out too. It's the perfect compliment to a nice soft pita bread or tortillia corn chips. (blue ones add a nice accent!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
My favorite spinach dip!!! Just remember to squeeze as much water out of the spinach before mixing in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
GREAT recipe!! Definitely good with carrot sticks, celery sticks and of course tortilla chips. I made it twice - first time I couldn't find green onions so I used chives...great results! 2nd time I didn't have hot sauce so I just added red pepper flakes and a tiny bit of red wine vinegar - not as good as with the hot sauce but it did the trick! PLUS I used the leftovers to stuff chicken breasts and it was SO good! Just thin out the chicken breast, put about 1/3 cup of the mixture (pre-cooked) on, roll it up and place the breasts in a baking dish with a little butter and white wine. Bake at 450 for 10 minutes - reduce heat to 350 and bake for another 15-20 minutes or so (until chicken isn't pink throughout). Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This is heavenly! As suggested, I added some artichokes and 1/2 c. parm in lieu of 1/2 c. of the mozzarella. Also, I chopped the spinach up a bit before wilting. Everyone loved it, including my sister-in-law's (supposedly arthritic) dog who jumped up on the table and started munching! Luckily I have more of the ingredients so I can make another batch! Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I made this recently for a party. It was gone ten minutes after I set it on the table. YUMMY! I did add parmesan and sauted spinach with chicken broth instead of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHowe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocean City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I tweaked this recipe quite a bit, but it was still awesome! Ive had to make it twice now, all within 4 days. :) First, I used a whole stick of butter. I melted that plus an 8oz block of cream cheese in the microwave until softened/melted. Then I added 3 Tbsp minced garlic, 1 lb bag of frozen spinach that was thawed and squeezed dry, 3/4 cup white wine, no salt, about 1 tsp pepper, about 1 1/2 tsp hot sauce, no green onion, 1 lb shredded mozzarella, 1/2 cup Miracle Whip, and a whole can of evaporated milk (I didn't have any half and half on hand). I also added about 1/3 - 1/2 cup of grated Parmesan cheese. I mixed it all up and put it in a 9x13 casserole dish and baked it at the suggested 350 degrees. I had to cook it a little longer because there was so much of it, closer to 30 minutes or until the top got a little golden brown. But it was seriously AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my4kids

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
What a great recipe! My family was in town and one serving of this went in the blink of an eye! Since I did not have all the listed ingredients, I improvised. I had no wine or 1/2 and 1/2. I used one can of hot rotel(drained) instead of the hot sauce. I used 8oz of cream cheese instead of mayo and 2%milk instead of 1/2 and 1/2. It was delicious! We especially liked the spice of the rotel as well as the tomatoes. Hope this was helpful and thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
So good. I used Monterey Jack cheese and frozen spinach. It tastes exactly like the Keg's Spinach dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicnNolsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
i get so many compliments on this recipe.Maybe the vinegar taste people may get is from cheap wine.I have not had one person complain nor have it tatste like vingar.I also added a Monteray Jack cheese and use only tabasco hot sauce..great recipe...yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
Simply delicious. I halved the recipe and used frozen spinach, and it still turned out very well! I've had dip like this in restaurants before, and I've tried to find recipes that could measure up. This is the first to make the grade. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States