Hot Cheesy Spinach Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I made this for a group of 6 people and it was just the right amount. I didn't use any white wine, hot sauce, or green onion and instead of 3 cups mozzarella cheese, I used 2 cups mozzarella cheese and 1 cup cheddar cheese. It tasted great! Also, I used a thawed frozen block of spinach rather than fresh spinach - the taste of the actual spinach was stronger than I expected but this is probably why. I served it with multi-grain Tostito chips and everyone loved it! Tip: Mix in about 2/3 of the shredded cheese and save the remaining 1/3 to sprinkle on top - makes it look nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
delicious! i would double the spinach. the white wine makes this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Rather bland, but nice enough, especially as a springboard for stronger flavors. I made 2 changes: left out wine (which would've been a nice flavor addition), & used an Italian cheese blend (w/ mozzarella, smoked provolone, Romano & Parmesan) subbing 1/2 c. (sharp) Parmesan for some of the (bland) mozz. Used thawed frozen spinach & plenty of Tabasco sauce - nice. A garnish of sliced green onion tops added tremendous & much-needed flavor & freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
We love this dip! Subbed sour cream for the mayo as there is an egg allergy in my family. Didn't have a "bunch" of baby spinach so I used about 3 huge handfulls of baby spinach from a bag and chopped it up before cooking. Lastly, didn't have mozz cheese so subbed a bag of cheddar. The wine really gave it a special taste, different from all the others I have tried. Thanks so much for the recipe! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This dip was so easy and so amazingly good! I made it for my very discerning girlfriends for our annual Christmas gathering and they all begged for the recipe before they left! The only change I made was to add artichoke hearts, but it would've been great even without them! My husband is eating the left overs as dinner! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I got many complements on this dip. It was nice to see a dip that didn't have artichokes since not everyone I was serving like them. I only added about 6 drops of hot sauce because no amount was specified and it was not spicy at all. I may add some more next time for a little zing. Served with tortilla chips and Ritz but there were soft pretzels on the table as well and many liked dipping them in the most. I did use a 6 blend cheese instead of the plain mozzerella because that's what I had. Will definitely make again! (Someone mentioned reserving the sauce for the spinach but my thought was that it was ALL supposed to go into the dip - and it did and it was great!) Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
WOW we loved this! The wine/butter/garlic sauce the spinach cooked in was too good to waste so I reserved it and then just added a bit back into the dip instead of using the half-and-half. Was rich and creamy enough for me without it... I used Sargento 6 Cheese Italian Blend for extra cheesy goodness. No need to order out as an appetizer again...this IS better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I have been making this recipe for years, but I have never taken the time to write out a review. I think it is a great base for a dip that you can tweak to your likes/dislikes. It always disappears at social gatherings. I love a good hot spinach/artichoke/cheese dip, but I have also had some BAD ones. I find this one great with some additions. I use about 3/4 cup of white wine and I cook it down a bit with the butter and garlic. Reduce it slightly. I also add diced artichoke hearts, and cook it along with the spinach. I season the spinach/artichoke mixture with Emeril Lagasse's Bayou Seasoning. Old Crab and a a bit of cayenne or another heat would work well too I'd imagine. I use 2 1/2 cups of shredded moz, and a 1/2 c. of grated parmesean. I cook for about 25 min, and then I swirl in fresh crabmeat and serve. People love it. I took off one star only because I altered the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This recipe is OK - I thought it rather bland, but my husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was very good for my first attempt at making a spinach dip. I cut the wine in half as I put it in a small crockpot instead of the oven. I also used 1 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup mayo. I think this would be good with cream cheese also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States