Hot Chai Latte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I started to make this recipe and then realized I was out of black tea leaves. OOPS! I used 1½ cups water, ½ cup whole milk, 5 whole cloves, 1 fat cinnamon stick, 2 pinches of nutmeg, between 4 and 5 tsp of sugar, and about 1½ TBS instant tea. I omitted the orange peel and the peppercorns, and I added in 2 allspice berries. It turned out as a 4 (nice, but mild in flavor... I prefer the dry Chai Tea Mix by Jo) but it would probably be a 5 if I had used black tea leaves instead of the instant tea, so I'm rating it as a 5! My 3-year old enjoys it, too. Thanks, Riley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
SOOOO GOOOOD! I cheated a little... I just used a Tazo Chai tea bag, heated up half milk and half water, added 2-3 tsp of water, sipped, and relaxed. I actually added a little vanilla to sweeten it too. Thanks for the tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I have never had "real" chai, but I thought this was delicious, and it is a keeper. Nice change of pace from regular coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crayn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
exactly what I was looking for. a coffee shop favorite in my own kitchen? people were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
very nice, I used a tea strainer instead of putting the spices into the pan, but this is simple and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Delicious! I just added 1/4-1/2 teaspoon of ginger and a couple of cardamom pods to make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I'm drinking it right now and all I can say is AWESOME!!! I had to make some substitutions, because I didn't have some of the ingredients called for and I was craving some Chai like I had at a home tasting party. I used a clementine peel, a small pinch of ground cloves, about 3/4 tsp of ground cinnamon, a bit of fresh coarse ground pepper, and two decaffeinated tea bags as my substitutes. The other ingredients I used were exactly as the recipe called for. I always make substitutes in recipes if I want something and don't have everything here! This chai is just perfect. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
It's a Hit!! I used honey instead of sugar, & added 3 cardamom pods & 1/4 t vanilla extract & an ordinary teabag instead of leaves. Don't be afraid to add extra the amount of spices! Next time, I will steep the mixture without the milk. Then I don't have to worry about 'milk skin' developing and I can add it to get a better drinking temperature for me (135 degrees).....mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I changed up the recipe and loved it! I brought the milk and water to a boil and immersed two decaffeinated tea bags (instead of loose tea leaves) into the saucepan. I immediately turned the heat off and added the orange peel, one tablespoon of white sugar, one tablespoon of honey, three cloves, one cinnamon stick, one crushed cardamom pod, a slice of fresh ginger, and a pinch of freshly grated nutmeg. I opted not to add the peppercorns. I put a lid on the saucepan and let it steep for 10 minutes. I strained the liquid into my coffee mug and drank it while it was still hot. The ginger, cardamom pod, and the freshly grated nutmeg sure added a lot of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELBE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Soooo tasty and soo easy. I used coconut milk and it turned out delicious. The coconut milk definitely makes it more flavorful. After making it this morning I am now addicted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make a Latte

See how easy it is to make your favorite espresso drink at home.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States