Hot Chai Latte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Hubby loves this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatinHiding
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I used ground spices in a silk tea bag and they worked fine. This is going to make a great pitcher to pour over ice all day! Thank you, thank you for making this luxury drink affordable for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Delicious! I DOUBLED the recipe and used all ground ingredients: 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp cloves, rounded 1/8 tsp black pepper, two dashes nutmeg (just upended the container and shook twice), 4 English Breakfast tea bags; I only had cuties on hand so I used 4 cutie peels. I added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract as well. Added everything to the milk and water once it was warmed over medium heat. Then I brought the mixture to a simmer, turned off the heat (I worried about the evaporation) and let everything steep, covered, for about 10 minutes. The result was a rich dark brown color. I poured it into a teapot with a looseleaf-tea strainer and it kept all the spice particles out. Sweetened with honey. Next time, I'm going to let it simmer down for a more concentrated brew, then freeze in an ice cube tray to make blended frapps and things with frozen yogurt. If I want a straight up cup, I'll probably ditch the honey and add sweetened condensed milk for taste and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I didn't have peppercorns or orange rind, but this recipe still came out great. It's a delicious, cheap and easy alternative to expensive coffee shop drinks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Great recipe but a bit too sweet for my taste; I like spicier chais. Thank you for the recipe post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
So delicious!! I make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is very good and so easy to customize to your preferences. I usually find a Chai Latte too sweet, so I only added half the sugar and it was just right. I simmered skim milk, water, and all the spices for about 30 minutes total COVERED except the black tea which I added for the last 5-10 minutes. Even though I covered this, I still ended up with just one serving. I substituted 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon for the cinnamon stick...next time I'll up that to 1/2 tsp. I'd recommend using a Constant Comment tea bag for the loose black tea...it's black tea that is already flavored with rind of oranges and spice, so it just enhances the flavor a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
very nice, I used a tea strainer instead of putting the spices into the pan, but this is simple and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Soooo tasty and soo easy. I used coconut milk and it turned out delicious. The coconut milk definitely makes it more flavorful. After making it this morning I am now addicted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I didn't have a lot of these exact ingredients but I wanted to make a chai tea latte with a shot of espresso for my husband because that's his favorite drink at our local coffee stand. I used the cup of water and milk then threw in some ground cloves, ground cinnamon, nutmeg, 4 tsp of sugar, and a tbsp of vanilla. After heating these together I added a Darjeeling tea bag and got the espresso ready. I then poured the tea mixture into the blender to make it frothy and I took out my portion before adding the espresso and frothing it in the blender again. My husband said it was good but not the same as the coffee stand so I'm going to get some cream and see if that helps because he wanted it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makimbo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make a Latte

See how easy it is to make your favorite espresso drink at home.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States