Hot Buttered Rum Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Good recipe just as is. I cut the sugars in half and don't think it was as good as it would have been if I had followed the original recipe. Possible could cut the powdered sugar but definately don't decrease the brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Mine never froze!! It remaines a thick goopy mess--but who cares?!! 2 scoops of the goop, 1.5 oz dark Meyer's Rum (no substitutes), 6 oz HOT water=HEAVEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This is delicious in hot Coffee with a little Kahlua!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This recipe was great at New Years. It did end up being too much than actually needed, but it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This was good, but super sweet. I'd maybe cut down on the sugar next time a bit. Maybe by 1/2 cup? Everyone loved it. Some used Rum, and some did not but they all enjoyed it with or with out the spirits. Thanks for the great recipe! For something spicy, try the spiced hot buttered rum recipe on this site. Yummie as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUTSBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was pretty good. I used this recipe for rum and it was good, but there was too much of a brown sugar flavor. I believe it needs more vanilla. This was good put in warm milk too. I will probably make this agan and experiment with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I think I added more than just a couple tbsp. to each cup to get just the right mix of batter, rum, and water. I also doubled the butter and decreased the sugars like everyone said, and I'm glad I did. I just made another double batch because the first disappeared so quickly. SO good, and REALLY easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
My family loved the hot buttered rum mix. The under 21 year-olds made the drink without rum and said it resembled a buttery-flavored Cream Steamer from Starbucks. The recipe should also include a dash of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Penllyn, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Great recipe. I used it at work for some of my regular customers and now it's a holiday special. I use 3 sticks of butter though. The dark rum is a great touch. It adds a different flavor to a classic holiday drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
FREEZE THE MIX INTO ICE CUBE TRAYS. Spray the trays well with unflavored cooking spray (don't use butter flavored) and spoon in the mix. When they are frozen solid, drop the "cubes" into a heavy duty zipper top bag and store in the freezer. Eliminates the mess of scoops and drips, and adjust the number of cubes in your drink based on the size of your trays. Dishwasher your trays in very hot water to remove the spray, or put them in the sink and poor boiling water over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States