Hot Buttered Rum Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Very easy to make - warms you up beautifully on a cold Aussie night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
The only reason I'm giving this three stars is due the the tremendous amount of sugar called for in this recipe. Seriously, I only used a fraction of the sugar and it was plenty sweet and loved by all of our guests at our party. Like one other reviewer, I too used one part apple cider which also helped to sweeten things up. I do thank you Kevin for submitting a delicious recipe that can so easily be tweaked to suit your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
My girlfriend actually made this recipe and brought some of the mix in for me. Delicious!! It's great to have this all ready in the freezer, and you can scoop out individual portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Cowabunga! Wonderful! Made it for a Christmas get-togheter at our barn and everyone loved it (and couldn't believe that I MADE IT! I'm not known to be very domestic!) Took the advice of another reviewer and used Captain Morgan's spiced rum (though it's so good, any rum would do) and topped it off with whipped cream. I did add some ginger, cloves, cinnimon--whatever was in the spice cupboard. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Oh my stars!! 5 stars at that! When I was putting this together, I was cringing...all that sugar and butter! But when you put it all together with the rum and hot water - YUM! Thank you for sharing this recipe, it will be a family tradition now! (I upped the rum to 3 Tablespoons - it's so sweet, we all thought the extra rum was needed. That and the fact that it was 6 degrees outside on Christmas night! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by topcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Very good. I also used it in hot coffee for a tasty change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I had never had hot buttered rum before, but this sounded so yummy I just had to try it! I took the advice of some other reviewers and added cinnamon and nutmeg to my mix along with the brown sugar--I think this is key to the flavor. It really is delicious--it's worth going out to play in the cold just to come in and warm up with a mug of this stuff!! My kids love it in hot cider too. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This recipe is really good but I find that it is difficult to get people to try it at a party because the mix can get very hard to scoop when it has been frozen for a long time and people bypass it when they see that it takes three steps (scoop mix, add rum, add cider) because they think it's too much of a hassle. I simplified the serving process by pre-scooping the mix into styrofoam cups and keeping them in the freezer. That way guests could just grab a cup of mix from the freezer and add the rum and cider instead of wrestling with the ice cream scoop. Instead of using water, I used a mixture of 4 parts water and 1 part apple cider. I think this is a great recipe for a party because people add their own alcohol so it helps non-drinkers blend in with the other guests and they don't have to advertise the fact they aren't drinking alcohol. Kids also really liked it - they started calling it "Hogwarts's Butter Beer" after Harry Potter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I’ve never had hot buttered rum drinks before, but it is perfect for cold winter nights. Now I can’t go to bed without having one sweet cup before… I know it’s not good for my “figure”, but I can’t help it! I like it really hot so instead of pouring boiling water, I just microwave it until it’s hot. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This stuff should be outlawed!! It is SOOO good! I added some nutmeg into the mix but no other changes. I cannot wait to try this out on others. Thanks a million Kevin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States