Hot Buttered Rum Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is the same recipe that my family has used for over 30 years! I loved it as a child(sans rum)and I love it today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I have not made this yet but will soon. We buy a local blend and use spiced rum or vanilla rum in it. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chugiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Weird. Not really what I expected but OK. I don't really know how to explain it! I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was our first try at Hot Buttered Rum. All I can say is WOW!! I may try increasing the butter to 1 lb like the other reviewers. I also used light rum because that is what I had on hand but will definetly get a bottle of dark rum before I make it again. It did make a large amount but it has kept really well in the freezer. This is a keeper in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Trade, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was really good...we used vanilla bean ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I love this recipe. It is nice and sweet and yummy for those cold evenings. It is also great to take camping!! My best friend has been nagging for weeks for another container. I add cinnamon and nutmeg for a extra touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Mmm, this is a great recipe. I substituted pumpkin ice cream because I didn't have vanilla, and the bit of spice is excellent. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I mixed up the butter and sugars together, and then I added it to the ice cream and froze it tightly in a container. I had already tasted the mixture and I thought it was delicious. I was very surprised when I added it to my coffee, both with and without the rum, and the flavor was very bland. I added more of the mixture to make it sweeter, but I was really disappointed especially after reading all the great reviews. Maybe I should have tried it in cocoa to increase the rich quality of the ice cream. Sorry, but I won't make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
this made way too much, but other than that, it's a staple in our household. nevermind that we live in hawaii where you never really drink hot drinks and that it's still summertime. this is a nice treat that's easy to make and especially simple to pull out when unexpected guests drop by. i admit that on an especially rough day (i am a new mom) i have made myself a small cup (with about 3 drops of rum) and sat on the couch in absolute bliss for 5 minutes. ahhh. be sure to half the recipe or even quarter it if you've never tried it before, otherwise you'll waste a whole lot of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Really good base, but it needs a little spice to it. I added coriander, cinnamon and touch of nutmeg to it. I keep some of this in the freezer for cold Washington nights, or mornings, or afternoons, it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States