Hot Buttered Rum Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written...it's a definite 5 stars! The batter will never freeze completely solid--don't be alarmed when it keeps a thick gelato texture after hours or days in the freezer. Also, the sprinkled nutmeg at the end makes all the difference. I will be remaking this batter/hot drink every holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmcalister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Not something I could drink often, but tasted really good. Made way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyssasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The best Hot Buttered Rum Batter I've ever made or tasted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Native Cowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oelrichs, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I am the most popular woman at work after giving individual batches of the batter as Christmas gifts. Everyone enjoyed the toddy's. A very comforting, delicious drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChattTraveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
So disappointing. I followed the instructions to the letter, but it just doesn't taste that great. It's too sweet and not buttery enough for my liking. If I were to make this again, I'd cut the confectioner's sugar completely. Overall, it's just not that good for the calories you're consuming while drinking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I remember drinking this (sans rum) when I was a child, it was a Christmas favorite of my grandma. One taste and it was 1979 again, snowing outside, and Grandma was still with us. Isn't that what traditions do? Keep us in touch with our loved ones through those shared memories. Thanks for sharing this recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. I was afraid it would create a watery drink, but not at all - the result is creamy perfection. I made two batches to give out as presents, and it was easy and fun. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I have been leary of buttered rum recipes because I have had weak tasting buttered rum before, and there is nothing worse!! This recipe is DELISH with just the hot water and rum! I am going to try it with hot apple cider for Christmas. I made a full batch, and it will last a while. Excited to have it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonmccarley

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
A Christmas party hit! I doubled the spice requirements and added a pinch of clove. Adults loved it and the kids loved the virgin version of it (hot cider used instead of water and rum).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeekendWarrior

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipe is AMAZING!! You can change it up simply by using a different type of vanilla ice cream (french, vanilla bean etc...) or adding a bit of pure vanilla to give it a richer flavor. The recipe is very versatile. Use it in coffee, with hot water or in cider for starters. I've used rum (spiced IS best) Baileys Irish Cream, coffee and whiskey and yes, even plain ;) This recipe is simply.....NUUUUMMMMY! I made a triple batch and am giving it away in jars for Christmas. THANK YOU SHERIMA1!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States