Hot Buttered Rum Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
made a big batch for Thanksgiving - the whole family loved it. I think I use more rum and more batter than they call for in a mug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is not a pretty drink, but it sure is good! I cut the recipe in half and used a very high quality, natural ice cream. When I added the water I found I had to increase the amounts of batter and rum to get a rich tasting drink. I could eat this right out of the freezer with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is great!! I always buy mine at a fancy grocery store and this was just as good...no better this was cheaper! I would make again and give as a gift, it is that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
My husband had this at a friend's house. He came home raving about the hot buttered rum he had and had his friend's wife give him the recipe. Well, lo and behold it was this recipe from my favorite website. I have never liked rum, and even I thought it was good. I will also be adding it to my hot tea. It is so sweet, my 5yr old licked the spoon and pot when I was done making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This turned out delicious. The only thing I did differently was to use whipping cream instead of the ice cream because I didn't want all the strange ingredients, guar gum, etc. that come with store bought ice cream. The drink was very creamy, sweet and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Great recipe! I added about 1/2 tsp of ground cloves and halved the recipe which still made plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tee Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I made half a batch since I didn't have a full pound of butter on hand. It is gooey but to me that's good. This batter makes a very yummy drink. I used to not really like hot buttered rum but now I love it! This one is a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Excellent! My prior efforts at making hot buttered rum always turned out disgusting, but this makes excellent drinks! I think I might possibly double the spices next time around, but otherwise this is wonderful. I think the people who complain about it being syrupy are letting it sit out at room temprature for too long. I keep the stuff in the freezer, and when I want some, I boil a mug of water and scoop a couple tablespoons of this into it, which cools it just enough to drink right away. Then I just throw in a little bit of rum. This is a great after-ski drink, and a nightcap as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Hmmmm, not quite what I had in mind. I found the mixture to be too sweet and then when added to the water made this unappetizing tasting syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States