Hot Buttered Rum Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I've made this recipe before, but with regular sugar instead of confectioners. I used confectioners this time and it was just as good (if not better) than I remember it. I added a little extra spice to my taste. My spices were a bit old so that certainly could have contributed to the blandness that I experienced. Once I added it to water the spice really came out anyway. I made it in advance for Thanksgiving and don't have rum yet, so I used rum extract for flavoring. It's so amazing! I'm in heaven right now. I halved the recipe, but it's still not going to last long. I used way more batter for my cup than 1T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is a great improvement on the recipe I had been using. I like a creamier drink so I use milk rather than water and just pop it in the microwave to heat. A perfect drink for a cold evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I had never even tasted Hot Buttered Rum before I made this, let alone tried it. While it was really different than what I was expecting, I LOVED it!! This was a perfect drink to have on a cold autum night and I definitely will be sharing this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This batter is fantastic. I found adding 3 scoops of batter works best (maybe my mugs are really big). After reading the reviews, I cut the recipe in half and it has made plenty. My son really enjoyed it - without the rum, of course. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I cut the recipe, and it came out good, but it needed a lot more than recommended to not be watery when mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This is an awesome recipe! Super easy and lasts in the freezer for months. I usually use a little more batter per drink than called for in the recipe, but I have a bit of a sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I first made this several years ago, and it makes a TON. We love it this way instead of the store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This is great! Ive never had hot buttered rum before but this batter sounded delicious. It is so good you can eat the batter by itself with a spoon! I use about a tablespoon and a half per 6 ounces of water and it comes out nicely! Of course I did not make the whole recipe. I made probably about 2 cups of the batter all together because the recipe makes a BUNCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
We thought this was just wonderful! Perfect for a cold night. However, we ended up using double the amount listed in each mugful and added extra cinnamon and nutmeg. Next time I will add extra spices to the batter, and will continue to add extra batter per cup. Rich and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is so so good and a great 'gathering drink' with friends. It's very rich but OH -so -GOOD. It makes ALOT so maybe you could cut it in half easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States