Hot Buttered Rum Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Nice and easy. I actually found a Dryer's brand icecream that was Pumpkin Pie flavored, and it was perfect for this application! But, the vanilla is wonderful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lavaca, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This recipe DOES make a lot, but use good ingredients, and who cares? In a pretty freezer container with recipe attached, it's a great gift idea. I used HaagenDazs ice cream, and freshly ground nutmeg, and it was delicious even as a virgin hot drink for the holidays. Rum's optional, but the freshly grated nutmeg on top isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This recipe yields a LOT of batter! It would be great to give to neighbors and friends as a gift. Our guests only drank one mug each during our Christmas party, as it reportedly made everyone sleepy (even though we were careful about the amount of rum added to each serving). I'd love to try this with amaretto - what a great idea from a past reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Very easy and very tasty. It's nice to have a batch made up and in the freezer for the holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shasta Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
My Dad used to make this every Christmas. I had never tried it with powdered sugar, also added ground cloves, and it's very good! I did use my Dad's method of simply softening the butter (not melting), and creaming it together with the sugars, then adding the ice cream. Less mess, easy to scoop after it's been in the freezer and everything still melts together perfectly when adding the hot water. I also use 2 big scoops of batter, depending on the size of the cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I made a few slight changes to it. I used Cake Batter Ice Cream instead of Vanilla and I used DiSaronno instead of rum. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Loved this. Forgot the cinnamon and nutmeg and it was still great. Used 2 tablespoons and filled with water in a coffee mug (with a shot of rum). Also used 2 TBSP with a cup of coffee and tasted like a caramel coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
So good. I don't like the store bought hot buttered rum batters I have tried in the past. This mix was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I've now sampled my wares and think it was a fabulous decision! I made a 3x batch with the intent to give some away. I used an instant cider pack and a lot of hot water in a big mug with about a shot of spiced rum. I added a bit more rum because I couldn't taste it. I gave up the idea I would "taste" it after I'd added about 2 shots (total). Dangerous stuff! I had my husband whisk the sugars into the butter because the butter was floating and . . I'm a wimp. Once it was whipped it was smooth and almost fudge-ish. Taking an idea from comments in another HBRum recipe on here, I sprayed some ice cube trays with unflavored oil and am freezing pre-portioned amounts for serving to guests. I've never made this before, and only had it once. I'm trying to decide who are the people who *must* get these as gifts and how many I can keep! Update: Don't do the ice-cube tray idea! I've got a gloppy mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is wonderful! Easy to make ahead and serve the night of a party - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States