Hot Buttered Rum Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I loved this and gave it as gifts to any rum loving friends as well as keeping a lot for myself. I'm glad it makes so much because on cold winter days after work, this is a wonderful hot drink. I used to have a so-so recipe, but now I'll be making this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarBrown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Wonderful but I put in double the amount of the batter into my cup. This taste great when made with the european butter and if you mix milk or cream into the hot water, makes it richer. It is very good as is though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Commis Chef Nieves

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Nice and easy. I actually found a Dryer's brand icecream that was Pumpkin Pie flavored, and it was perfect for this application! But, the vanilla is wonderful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lavaca, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This recipe DOES make a lot, but use good ingredients, and who cares? In a pretty freezer container with recipe attached, it's a great gift idea. I used HaagenDazs ice cream, and freshly ground nutmeg, and it was delicious even as a virgin hot drink for the holidays. Rum's optional, but the freshly grated nutmeg on top isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This recipe yields a LOT of batter! It would be great to give to neighbors and friends as a gift. Our guests only drank one mug each during our Christmas party, as it reportedly made everyone sleepy (even though we were careful about the amount of rum added to each serving). I'd love to try this with amaretto - what a great idea from a past reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Very easy and very tasty. It's nice to have a batch made up and in the freezer for the holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shasta Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
My Dad used to make this every Christmas. I had never tried it with powdered sugar, also added ground cloves, and it's very good! I did use my Dad's method of simply softening the butter (not melting), and creaming it together with the sugars, then adding the ice cream. Less mess, easy to scoop after it's been in the freezer and everything still melts together perfectly when adding the hot water. I also use 2 big scoops of batter, depending on the size of the cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I made a few slight changes to it. I used Cake Batter Ice Cream instead of Vanilla and I used DiSaronno instead of rum. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Loved this. Forgot the cinnamon and nutmeg and it was still great. Used 2 tablespoons and filled with water in a coffee mug (with a shot of rum). Also used 2 TBSP with a cup of coffee and tasted like a caramel coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
So good. I don't like the store bought hot buttered rum batters I have tried in the past. This mix was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States