Hot Buttered Rum Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Boy, is this good stuff! I've never had anything like this, but it was highly recommended by gammaray (= a fellow buzzer. I halved the recipe and tried it with half the rum amount and totally without the rum. I really like it best without the rum. What a wonderful way to warm up on a chilly night. The mixture doesn't completely freeze, so it is very easy to serve. With half a recipe, I got two full 1 pound containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I was a little worried reading some of the more critical reviews that this was going to be too sweet. I kept going back and forth over less sugar or more butter but ultimately decided to follow the recipe exactly. I used cider instead of water, and Capt Morgan's and I loved it. It wasn't too sweet, had just enough rum to add flavor, but not so much you're gagging on the alcohol taste. I didn't care for nutmeg sprinkled on top, but I did love a dollop of whipped cream on it. Tomorrow I plan to try it with water and maybe whipped cream and cinnamon on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Way too sweet! Needs maybe some more spices, a dash of salt?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
yummy yummy yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimblyn Horton Begonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is really good! makes a large batch to get thru the season with. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Very good. But I did get too much cinnamon and I think the sugar should be cut down in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I have made this several times. I use 2 scoops of batter, 2 shots of MEYERS rum in a large mug and then fill with hot water. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
We've been making this in my family for years. I've never met anyone who didn't love it. It's just not the holidays without a nice warm mug of this deliciously decadent drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasteenb
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
The only reason I give this recipe 4 stars and not 5 is because it doesn't include ground clove and allspice. I just finished making this recipe and am enjoying a cup now, its excellent with White Christmas rum and brandy drink and I also added a drop of apple jack liquor to it. I really do suggest adding allspice and clove; gives it a little extra spice that's o so nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I am having some of this right now and it is awesome!! Made exactly as is and wouldn't change a thing!! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States