Hot Buttered Apple Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is like drinking warm apple pie! Delicious! I tripled the amount of cider but only used 1 cup of maple syrup. Turned out great and has been enjoyed at several family and holiday get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I'm rating this a "4" because it *inspired* the recipe I evenutally made up from a bunch I've found on the www. The butter was NOT a problem and it was a huge hit among a diverse crowd of guests: 2 Gallons of Cider Crush slightly and wrap in cheesecloth: Cinnamon sticks Green cardamom, pods removed Star anise Whole nutmeg Cloves Allspice (I didn't have any...) Toss the packet in the cider. Wash and puncture multiple times: 1 orange 1 lemon Cut up and throw in: Dried pears Dried mangoes Pour in about: 1/2 cup maple syrup Start it cooking slowly, and when it's hot, THEN throw in: 1/2 stick of UNSALTED butter Then, just let it stew away. I started mine about 9 a.m. for a 2 p.m. holiday open house party. The butter is just a creaminess in the rich spicy fruit. It wasn't too sweet because of the other fruits, and the spices didn't make it bitter because of the butter. So, THANKS for the great recipe inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This was very good. I made it by the cup, so I only used 2 tsp maple syrup, 1 tsp butter and a dash of allspice and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
made this for a kids party. They all said it was gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This was good, but really sweet! However, the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I really liked this drink! The first time I made this, I only used 1/4 cup maple syrup and thought that was a bit too sweet. The second time I omitted the syrup altogether and liked it better that way. The butter was perfect. I used about 1/2 tsp. per cup, let it melt, and stirred well. If you let it sit, yes, the butter floated to the surface and I can see how you might get a mouthful of butter. Just give it another quick stir and it's all mixed up again. I will be making this again next season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I cut the recipe in half & only got two teacups full. I heated up my cider & maple syrup in the microwave (will decrease syrup next time...we thought it was wayyy too sweet) & then poured it into vintage teacups & used a teeny tiny whisk to whisk the butter in until it was well-blended. I cut the butter in half & made sure it was well-blended so I didn't have the buttery film problem others experienced. I added a capful of brandy to my cup & loved the addition. I think it helped cut the sweet, fruity taste some. Thansk Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Well, I combined two different recipes, using only the spiced-butter from this recipe. I used the other apple cider recipe that got rave-reviews (and it was awesome - the one with the lemon and orange zest in cheese cloth). The spiced butter from this was wonderful!!! I used non-salted butter and it was fabulous. I think the salt would detract from this a lot, but the non-salted butter just melted and left a yummy creamy taste to the cider that my guests could not stop talking about! I was VERY pleased and had to hand out a lot of recipes that night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was sooo good! I think the butter added a fabulous flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binkyj826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I made, as is, and it's a good cider. I will add it to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States