Hot Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
all I added was some bacon salt. the kids loved it too! they called it "rockstar soup". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This soup is really easy and delicious. I do recommend adding the extra seasonings other reviewers have recommended if you like a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This soup prompted me to become a member just so I could comment on it! It was simple, delicious, and a great source of fiber! Because I use it in almost all my soups, I added a dash of garlic powder. A bit of carrot or celery might be nice as well. Thanks for a great quick soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
As suggested I added a bit of onion powder, garlic powder and cumin, as well as the hot sauce. The soup was easy to prepare and delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I did change it quite a bit, but without the original I would have been lost. Amazing soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Thanks for the idea! Was looking for a quick, hot and nutritious lunch. I didn't have the exact beans called for, so used a mix of pinto, navy and great northern. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I changed this recipe a bit and it tasted great! I made 4x the recipe and froze it in portions to be eaten with future dinner. I used canned white beans instead of pinto beans (that's what I had), I omitted the hot sauce and added some freshly minced garlic and some cumin. Once cooked I pureed the soup with my immersion blender. This soup couldn't be any easier! Just opening up some cans - and no chopping!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Super fast! I mad a few changes... Added half the water, used garlic powder, ancho chili pepper, and some fresh cilantro. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This soup is delicious! I gave it 4 only because I changed it a little. I double it and to make it simple, used 1 can of pinto beans and 3 cans off garbanzo beans. I used 4 cups of chicken broth rather than the water and bouillon. As for seasoning I used 2 tsp of onion powder, 1 tsp chili powder and 1/2 tsp of cumin along with the recommended hot sauce. It was just enough seasoning to give it a hint of flavour without overwhelming the beans. So quick! Yumm! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
As written, this soup would have been way too bland for me, but I liked the idea. With the following additions, which included, garlic and onion powders, cumin, chili powder, paprika and low sodium, fat free chicken broth, it was just about perfect. I ran the beans thru my food processor before adding them to the liquid. Good start and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States