Hot Banana Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
When I saw this recipe, I was totally intrigued and had to try it. I'm glad I did, because it is really good! The only thing I would do differently is next time, I'll put half in the food processor and then mix it with the rest. I prefer a part chunky, part liquidy salsa. Thanks Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Loved it! very different and you can make it as hot as you want (we like it hot!). Only downfall is you can't make it in advance or have leftovers because of the banana. I guess you could make everything else, and just add bananas to the portion you are going to serve about 15 minutes before, so that you can keep the rest in the fridge. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This was fantastic and like other comments made about this recipe "I tried it becuase it intrigued me". To be honest I married two recipes together so mine was a combination and it was killer!!! I didn't add the ginger, and subsititued 1/2 Walla Walla sweet onion instead of green onion. I added 1/4 cup finely minced mint, added 1/2 cup minced cucumber, and I used 2 bananas finely chopped, and the juice from 2 very large limes. I served it with pita (or you could use other flat bread) that I had brushed lightly with oil and Mediterranean spices and grilled that had been cut into wedges. The next time I will also grill some pita with sugar and cinnamon and serve it as a dessert salsa! WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
HUGE HIT!!! I served this over coconut rice at a tropical themed bridal shower and had multiple requests for the recipe. I also had grilled jerk shrimp on the buffett and it paired very well. I will make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Powell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Wow, everybody loved this. I did get wimpy and substituted a jalapeno pepper for the habanero and it was just the right amount of hot for me, although I am sure it is excellent with the habanero. I made it ahead and added bananas just before serving. Everyone loved the fresh taste and interesting combination of flavors! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I didn't make this recipe, but I assigned it to a guest at our dinner party and she made it. The salsa was delicious! She used jalapenos instead of habanero because she was nervous the habanero would be too spicy and it turned out to have no kick at all, so we all agreed next time it should have habanero peppers instead. But even without the kick, it was flavorful and refreshing! I'll make it myself soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Fantastic, and very refereshing! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasoula

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Great flavors. Would be perfect over any type of grilled white fish. We served it over coconut rice for an island themed meal -- everyone raved. Use the habanero, it gives the perfect kick to the sweetness. Make sure your banana is not too ripe. I chilled everything for an hour in the fridge and then added the banana right before we ate (this seemed to help it "keep" a little longer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Fresh, healthy and lots of flavor - plus easy to make! I used just 1/2 tsp of the habenero pepper - just right for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Loved this recipe! It was so light and refreshing. I used jalepenos instead of habaneros but it was still just spicy enough! This is one of my favorites yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States