Hot Banana Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I didn't make this recipe, but I assigned it to a guest at our dinner party and she made it. The salsa was delicious! She used jalapenos instead of habanero because she was nervous the habanero would be too spicy and it turned out to have no kick at all, so we all agreed next time it should have habanero peppers instead. But even without the kick, it was flavorful and refreshing! I'll make it myself soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
HUGE HIT!!! I served this over coconut rice at a tropical themed bridal shower and had multiple requests for the recipe. I also had grilled jerk shrimp on the buffett and it paired very well. I will make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Powell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Wow, everybody loved this. I did get wimpy and substituted a jalapeno pepper for the habanero and it was just the right amount of hot for me, although I am sure it is excellent with the habanero. I made it ahead and added bananas just before serving. Everyone loved the fresh taste and interesting combination of flavors! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
What flavor! Having said that, I will say that both my fiancé and I felt that the habanero pepper overpowered the wonderful flavor of the salsa. I LOVE spicy food, but even this was a bit much. It was edible, but not as enjoyable as it could have been. Maybe I added too much pepper. Who knows? Next time though, I will use jalapeno peppers or some red pepper flakes just to be on the safe side. The combined flavors of the salsa were absolutely incredible. I served it atop a bed of rice and with Jay’s Jerk Chicken as the main dish. Definitely try this recipe, but pepper it to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was great, though I left out the sugar because it was sweet enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
doubled recipe - it can go quickly. nice blending of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Fantastic, and very refereshing! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasoula

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Great flavors. Would be perfect over any type of grilled white fish. We served it over coconut rice for an island themed meal -- everyone raved. Use the habanero, it gives the perfect kick to the sweetness. Make sure your banana is not too ripe. I chilled everything for an hour in the fridge and then added the banana right before we ate (this seemed to help it "keep" a little longer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Fresh, healthy and lots of flavor - plus easy to make! I used just 1/2 tsp of the habenero pepper - just right for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Loved this recipe! It was so light and refreshing. I used jalepenos instead of habaneros but it was still just spicy enough! This is one of my favorites yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States