Hot Banana Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This was fantastic and like other comments made about this recipe "I tried it becuase it intrigued me". To be honest I married two recipes together so mine was a combination and it was killer!!! I didn't add the ginger, and subsititued 1/2 Walla Walla sweet onion instead of green onion. I added 1/4 cup finely minced mint, added 1/2 cup minced cucumber, and I used 2 bananas finely chopped, and the juice from 2 very large limes. I served it with pita (or you could use other flat bread) that I had brushed lightly with oil and Mediterranean spices and grilled that had been cut into wedges. The next time I will also grill some pita with sugar and cinnamon and serve it as a dessert salsa! WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
What flavor! Having said that, I will say that both my fiancé and I felt that the habanero pepper overpowered the wonderful flavor of the salsa. I LOVE spicy food, but even this was a bit much. It was edible, but not as enjoyable as it could have been. Maybe I added too much pepper. Who knows? Next time though, I will use jalapeno peppers or some red pepper flakes just to be on the safe side. The combined flavors of the salsa were absolutely incredible. I served it atop a bed of rice and with Jay’s Jerk Chicken as the main dish. Definitely try this recipe, but pepper it to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
When I saw this recipe, I was totally intrigued and had to try it. I'm glad I did, because it is really good! The only thing I would do differently is next time, I'll put half in the food processor and then mix it with the rest. I prefer a part chunky, part liquidy salsa. Thanks Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Wow, everybody loved this. I did get wimpy and substituted a jalapeno pepper for the habanero and it was just the right amount of hot for me, although I am sure it is excellent with the habanero. I made it ahead and added bananas just before serving. Everyone loved the fresh taste and interesting combination of flavors! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Loved it! very different and you can make it as hot as you want (we like it hot!). Only downfall is you can't make it in advance or have leftovers because of the banana. I guess you could make everything else, and just add bananas to the portion you are going to serve about 15 minutes before, so that you can keep the rest in the fridge. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I made this as a topping for some Jamaican Jerk pork skewers that we grilled. It was quite interesting! Two changes only: I used a jalapeno instead, and I used roasted red peppers (in a jar) because I forgot the red bell pepper at the store. People seemed to enjoy it. A fine dice is very important for this salsa. I also recommend adding the bananas and cilantro just before serving, as things tend to get a bit soupy from the acidic lime juice. Thanks for something new and fresh and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
HUGE HIT!!! I served this over coconut rice at a tropical themed bridal shower and had multiple requests for the recipe. I also had grilled jerk shrimp on the buffett and it paired very well. I will make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Powell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
REALLY loved this! I used poblano instead of green pepper and left out the habanero. I also used shallot and fresh chive flowers in place of the green onion. The purple was very pretty in it. Served this with Oprahs coconut risotto ( made with coconut rum instead of wine) and grilled jerk shrimp. A gourmet night in Jamaica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Very good, but slimy if stirred too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
WOW!!! This was soooo good! We used a jalapeno instead of the habanero. We served it with Jay's Jerk Chicken skewered and grilled and a bed of basmati rice. This is one of the most unique and delicious recipes we have tried from Allrecipes. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cortez, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States